Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medicine Subject Guide: Collect Citations

Importing from Online Databases

Manually Adding References

  1. Click on New Reference 
  2. Select an output style from the drop down menu next to View Fields Used By.  If you would like to choose a Folder at this time, do so, Next, choose the Reference Type (the default is Journal Article)
  3. Enter the reference information in the fields provided.  You can access additional fields by clicking the Additional Fields link at the bottom left side of the page
  4. Click on Save Reference when complete.

Exporting from Databases

Most of the Databases allow a Direct Export to RefWorks.  Look for the Export function after doing a search.

RefWorks allows you to import references directly from a Database into your RefWorks account.  For the most used databases and aggregators in Health Sciences please follow the directions below:

PubMed

1.  Conduct your search.

2.  Mark the records you wish to export.

3.  Click on the Send To, then click Citation Manager, Click Create File and the citation will automatically download to your computer.

 4.  Log in to RefWorks.

5.  Select References/Import from the toolbar.

6.  Select NLM PubMed as the data source and as the database.

7.  Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer

8. Click Import.

9. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder‚Äč

Ovid

1. Conduct your search and mark (place a check in box next to citation) your records for import

2. Click Export --this is on the toolbar at the top of your search

3. Select RefWorks direct export and select preferred citation format

4. Click Export button

5. You will be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account

6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder

To Manually Save and Export Records:

1. Select the references you want to export.

2. Click the Export icon.

3. Select RIS in the Export to drop-down.

4. Click Export Citations.

5. Select the location where you want to save the file and type the file name.

6. Click Save.

7. Log in to RefWorks.

8. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

9. Select RIS Format as the data source and database.

10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

11. Click Import.

12. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

ScienceDirect

For Direct Export:

1. Mark the records you want to import and click Export Citations.

2. Select Citations + Abstracts to export the record's abstracts.

3. Select the RefWorks Direct Export and click Export.

4. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.

5. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder

CINAHL

For Direct Export

1. Conduct a search

2. Click on the Add to Folder icon under each results you want to select.

3. Click on the Folder link on the top right of the screen. You will see the list of results, you've selected.

4. Select the results you want to export and click on the Export icon to the right of the list.

5. Click the radio button in front of Direct Export to RefWorks to initiate a direct export.

Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function. 

6. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.

7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

1. Go to scholar.google.com

2. First go to upper right--Settings and scroll down to the bottom

3. Change Bibliographic Manager to RefWorks and click Save

Note:  if you want this to stay permenantly you will have to change your computer settings to accept all cookies

4. Back a the Search page, conduct your search

5. See under your citation results, see the link--Import into RefWorks

6. When you click on this link, your RefWorks account will open, 1 Imported Reference,

7. At the bottom right, click on Last Imported button and your Google Scholar reference will be there.

8. Check the box and put it into a folder

Note:  Google Scholar citations are 1 at a time, only!!! please make sure you are placing these references into a folder

Image Map