Medical Resources
PubMed [free mobile web]
Includes more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Scopus SciVerse [Howard U]
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Please register first (upper right) to access the mobile version.
ClinicalKey [Howard U]
Register a personal account to login.
CINAHL via EBSCOhost [Howard U]
Databases and discovery technologies for premium online information resources.
FirstConsult [free app]
Information on the screening, prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of the medical conditions responsible for office visits and inpatient admissions. Use your ClinicalKey personal login (see above).
Drug Resources
Micromedex [free app]
Drug Information contains monograph information on 4500+ search terms.
ePocrates [free app]
Includes clinical information on 1000s of prescription medicines and 100s of OTC drug products, in-depth formulary information, pill identifier, drug interaction checker and calculators.
John Hopkins ABX [purchase app]
Antibiotic information organized by diagnosis, drugs, pathogens, management & vaccines. Includes diagnostic criteria, treatment regimens and algorithms, drug interactions & more.
Medical Calculators & Guidelines
MedCalc [purchase app]
Access to over 200 medical formulas, scores, scales, and classifications. Detailed information and bibliographic references for each formula.
Cardio Calc [free app]
Tool for managing a cardiovascular disease or hyperlipidemia patients. Interpret echocardiography and invasive hemodynamics, determine cardiovascular risk, and guide lipid treatment.
STAT Depression Screener [free app]
Quickly administer and score the PHQ-9. Useful for primary care clinicians in diagnosing depression and selecting and monitoring treatment.
AHRQ ePSS [free app]
Helps primary care clinicians identify screening, counseling, and preventive medication services. Based on the recommendations of the USPSTF. Search by patient characteristics.
ACC Pocket Guidelines [free app]
Adapted from the full text version of ACC/AHA Practice Guidelines. Also includes the TTE/TEE Appropriateness Criteria Tools.
Miscellaneous Tools
Diagnosaurus DDx [purchase app]
Search over 1,000 diagnoses by organ system, symptom, or disease. Use the “See related DDx” feature to consider alternative diagnoses.
Mobile DDx [purchase app]
Explore topics by organ system, symptoms or diseases, or across all. Select your diagnosis from the list to see its differential diagnoses. Over 1,000 medicine & surgery differential diagnoses from Lange.
PolyGlot Med Spanish [purchase app]
Audio translation of over 3,000 common words, phrases & assessment questions from English to Spanish and from Spanish to English.
Google [free app]
Advanced Google search experience including Google Goggles, Voice Search and My Location.
NEJM [free app]
The latest from NEJM including recent articles, images, audio, and video.
AppStart [free app]
The first iPad app to download! Includes how-tos and essential apps to become more familiar with your iPad.
Skype [free app]
Call, video call and instant message anyone on Skype. Works over 3G or Wi-Fi.
ToDo [purchase app]
Full of features (projects, sub-tasks, due-dates, categories, etc.) & simple to use. Makes it easy to keep your lists in sync between your mobile devices and computers. Syncs with Outlook and iCal.
Pages [purchase app]
Create, edit, and view documents wherever you are. Uses Smart Zoom to automatically zoom in on text while you type so it's easy to write and edit.
Evernote [free app]
Helps you remember anything and everything that happens in your life. From notes, to lists, to ideas, to snapshots, to recordings, put it all into Evernote and watch as it instantly syncs with your desktop.
OneNote [free app]
Create and view notes and lists whenever you need them. Sync your notes and access them from anywhere or share with others.
iAnnotate [purchase app]
An elegant PDF reader and an annotation tool. Open documents from email, fill out forms, sign and send out contracts, enter notes for edits, sketch diagrams, copy text, and add highlights or underline with the drag of a finger!
RefWorks [Howard U]
Online citation management allows you to organize references, create bibliographies in customized formats, and easily incorporate citations into working manuscripts. Please initially sign up using a Howard domain. To sign up, use the above link, look on the lower right, click and sign up for an individual account. You will receive all your login information including access off-campus via email.
Medical Resources
PubMed [free mobile web]
Includes more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Scopus SciVerse [Howard U]
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Please register first (upper right) to access the mobile version.
ClinicalKey [Howard U]
Register a personal account to log in.
Drug Resources
Micromedex [free app]
Drug Information contains monograph information on 4500+ search terms.
ePocrates [free app]
Includes clinical information on 1000s of prescription medicines and 100s of OTC drug products, in-depth formulary information, pill identifier, drug interaction checker, and calculators.
John Hopkins ABX [purchase app]
Antibiotic information is organized by diagnosis, drugs, pathogens, management & vaccines. Includes diagnostic criteria, treatment regimens, and algorithms, drug interactions & more.
Medical Calculators & Guidelines
MedCalc 3000 Complete [purchase app]
Access to over 200 medical formulas, scores, scales, and classifications. Detailed information and bibliographic references for each formula.
Cardio Calc [free app]
Tool for managing a cardiovascular disease or hyperlipidemia patients. Interpret echocardiography and invasive hemodynamics, determine cardiovascular risk and guide lipid treatment.
AHRQ ePSS [free app]
Helps primary care clinicians identify screening, counseling, and preventive medication services. Based on the recommendations of the USPSTF. Search by patient characteristics.
ACC Pocket Guidelines [free app]
Adapted from the full-text version of ACC/AHA Practice Guidelines. Also includes the TTE/TEE Appropriateness Criteria Tools.
Miscellaneous Tools
Diagnosaurus DDx [purchase app]
Search over 1,000 diagnoses by organ system, symptom, or disease. Use the "See related DDx" feature to consider alternative diagnoses.
Diagnosaurus [purchase app]
Provides differential diagnoses by organ system, symptom, or disease.
Emergency Medical Spanish Guide
[purchase app]
Audio designed for non-Spanish speaking health care professionals to quickly ascertain vital medical information from their patients.
Google [free apps]
Advanced Google search experience including a Quick Search Box, Maps, Gmail, YouTube, Latitude, Buzz, Talk, Calendar, Contacts, Finance, Shopper, Earth, Translate, Blogger, and Goggles.
EKGdroid [purchase app]
Simple arrhythmia guide where each component of the EKG is explained. Zoom buttons available for detailed EKG strip view.
Eponyms [free app]
Short descriptions of more than 1,700 common medical eponyms.
Skype [free app]
Call, video call, and instant message anyone on Skype. Works over 3G or Wi-Fi.
IM+ Lite [free app]
All-in-One app for GTalk, Yahoo, MSN/Live Messenger, AIM/iChat, ICQ, MySpace, Twitter, Facebook, and Jabber.
ToDo Task Manager Pro [purchase app]
Features such as sorting, filtering, speech input, due dates, snooze, repeating alarms, and search. Able to export & import information or sync with Google Calendar.
Quickoffice Pro [purchase app]
Create, edit, & view Microsoft Word, PowerPoint, and Excel files. Advanced PDF viewer included. Clipboard access between apps, insert images, edit text formulas, and more. Separate app for Honeycomb Tablet.
Evernote [free app]
Helps you remember anything and everything that happens in your life.
Documents ToGo [purchase app]
Create, view, & edit Google Doc files, Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint files as well as view your PDF files. Not interested in creating and editing? Download the free version to view Word, Excel, and PowerPoint files (not PDFs).
ezPDF Reader [purchase app]
A PDF reader and annotation tool. Add text boxes, sticky notes, highlights underlines, cross-outs, rectangles, ovals, and freehand drawings. Play embedded media and more.
RefWorks [Howard U]
Online citation management allows you to organize references, create bibliographies in customized formats, and easily incorporate citations into working manuscripts. Please initially sign up using a Howard domain. To sign up, use the above link, look on the lower right, click and sign up for an individual account. You will receive all your login information including access off-campus via email.
Adobe Reader [free app]
Provides high quality, fast PDF viewing & interaction.
