Evidence-Based Nursing: A way of providing nursing care that is guided by the integration of the best available scientific knowledge with nursing expertise. This approach requires nurses to critically assess relevant scientific data or research evidence, and to implement high-quality interventions for their nursing practice (NLM PubMed MeSH).
Evidence-Based Practice: A way of providing health care that is guided by a thoughtful integration of the best available scientific knowledge with clinical expertise. This approach allows the practitioner to critically assess research data, clinical guidelines, and other information resources in order to correctly identify the clinical problem, apply the most high-quality intervention, and re-evaluate the outcome for future improvement (NLM PubMed MeSH).
Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice by
The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and midwifery and mirrors the remit of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice provides insights into the key contextual issues to be considered in the implementation and assessment of evidence-based practice. Increasingly, implementation research is demonstrating that for evidence to be successfully implemented into practice, the context of practice needs to be considered. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice addresses professional, educational, and organizational contextual issues that impact on the implementation of evidence into practice and the bringing about of practice change. Practical strategies that have been used effectively to overcome these contextual issues in a range of healthcare settings are identified. Specific contextual issues in different care settings are also addressed e.g. acute care, primary health care, peri-operative settings, paediatrics, aged care, mental health, midwifery. Each chapter is written by an internationally known and respected author, with experience of developing or reviewing contextual strategies that have an impact on the implementation and utilisation of research in practice. They explore how gaining a better understanding of context made a difference to the implementation process or outcome and address the potential to transfer different approaches to a range of healthcare settings. An informative, practical resource for nurses and other health care professionals Explores context-related models and approaches to implementation Informs implementation and enables effective decision making Critically appraises contextual factors across the spectrum of care Explores future directions and implications Includes case examples
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition by
First Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title! This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in short sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and state-of-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet Status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. It differentiates between EBP and research, a difficult concept for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care features examples that demonstrate the practical application of content. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the second edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet Status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care with plentiful examples
Evidence-based practice in nursing informatics concepts and applications by
Because of the constant advances and dynamics within the nascent field of nursing informatics, many nurses struggle in practice as they continue to try and apply habitual communication practices in the new environment without any critical reflection on, and adaptation of, those practices. Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing Informatics: Concepts and Applications serves as a valuable asset for nurses, administrators and practitioners who want to improve their understanding of nursing informatics. Critiquing fundamental concepts such as evidence based practice, and examining possible applications of such concepts in the contemporary context of nursing informatics, this text offers chapter and case studies focusing on technology s contributions to nursing theory and practice, nursing systems management, and decision-support in nursing."
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
Unlike more expensive, weighty textbooks on the theories, Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence Based Practice: Models and Guidelines provides practical guidelines on the model with exemplars, a question development tool, evidence rating scale, project management, appraisal forms, and evidence summary documents, this book helps nurses not only understand the theory, but also put it into action. The new edition includes expanded and improved tools and forms including additional guidelines for individual appraisals, and both research and non-research-based evidence. Authors will improve the strength and quality of the section on systematic reviews. It is both a textbook for students and a handbook for nurses in practice. Faculty members and staff development instructors can download a PDF of a free, 26-page instructors guide to use as a resource in teaching the JHNEBP Model. The instructors guide includes examples of course objectives, how to set up an EBP project for students, and educational strategies for health care organizations. The guide addresses both graduate and undergraduate education.
Horntvedt MT, Nordsteien A, Fermann T, Severinsson E. Strategies for teaching evidence-based practice in nursing education: a thematic literature review. BMC Med Educ. 2018 Jul 28;18(1):172. doi: 10.1186/s12909-018-1278-z. PMID: 30055612; PMCID: PMC6064179.
Camargo FC, Iwamoto HH, Galvão CM, Pereira GA, Andrade RB, Masso GC. Competences and Barriers for the Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing: an integrative review. Rev Bras Enferm. 2018 Jul-Aug;71(4):2030-2038. English, Portuguese. doi: 10.1590/0034-7167-2016-0617. PMID: 30156693.
Mathieson A, Grande G, Luker K. Strategies, facilitators and barriers to implementation of evidence-based practice in community nursing: a systematic mixed-studies review and qualitative synthesis. Prim Health Care Res Dev. 2019 Jan;20:e6. doi: 10.1017/S1463423618000488. Epub 2018 Aug 2. PMID: 30068402; PMCID: PMC6476399.
Patelarou AE, Mechili EA, Ruzafa-Martinez M, Dolezel J, Gotlib J, Skela-Savič B, Ramos-Morcillo AJ, Finotto S, Jarosova D, Smodiš M, Mecugni D, Panczyk M, Patelarou E. Educational Interventions for Teaching Evidence-Based Practice to Undergraduate Nursing Students: A Scoping Review. Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2020 Aug 31;17(17):6351. doi: 10.3390/ijerph17176351. PMID: 32878256; PMCID: PMC7503534.
Fiset VJ, Graham ID, Davies BL. Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Nursing Education: A Scoping Review. J Nurs Educ. 2017 Sep 1;56(9):534-541. doi: 10.3928/01484834-20170817-04. PMID: 28876439.
