Below are the call numbers related to nursing; browse these areas in the general and reference collections of the library. To view a more detailed breakdown of NLM's (National Library of Medicine) nursing classification, please click the link below the list.
WY Nursing
WY 1-49 Reference Works
WY 77-88 Economics, Ethics, Philosophy, Psychological Aspects
WY 90-100.5 Referral, Nursing Care, Assessment and Audit
WY 101-145 Nursing Specialties
WY 150-170 Nursing in Special Fields of Medicine
WY 191-200 Other Services
For detailed Nursing classification https://classification.nlm.nih.gov/schedules/WY
Clinical Reasoning and Care Coordination in Advanced Practice Nursing by
Teaches students how to think like an APRN This book describes an innovative model for helping APRN students develop the clinical reasoning skills required to navigate complex patient care needs andcoordination in advanced nursing practice. This model, the Outcome-Present-State-Test (OPT), encompasses a clear, step-by-step process that students can use to learn the skills of differential diagnosis and hone clinical reasoning strategies. This method facilitates understanding of the relationships among patient problems, outcomes, and interventions that focus on promoting patient safety and care coordination. It moves beyond traditional ways of problemsolving by focusing on patient scenarios and stories and juxtaposing issues and outcomes that have been derived from an analysis of patient problems, evidence-based interventions, and desired outcomes. The model offers a blueprint for using standardized health care languages and provides strategies for developing reflective and complex thinking thatbecomes habitual. It embodies several levels of perspective related to patient-centered care planning, team-centered negotiation, and health care systemconsiderations. Through patient stories and case scenarios, the text highlights care coordination strategies critical in complex patient situations. Itprovides students with the tools to collect patient information, determine priorities for care, and test interventions to reach health care outcomes bymaking clinical judgments during the problem-solving process. Concept maps illustrate complex patient care issues and how they relate to each other. For faculty use, the text provides links to relevant APN competencies and provides guidelines for using the OPT when supervising students in field settings. Key Features: Delivers a concrete learning model for developing creative thinking and problem solving in the clinical setting Offers a blueprint and structure for using standardized health care languages Includes patient stories and case scenarios to illustrate effective use of the OPT model Highlights care coordination strategies associated with complex client situations with the use of the Care Coordination Clinical Reasoning model Reinforces methods of reaching a diagnosis, outcomes, and interventions and how to duplicate the process
Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by
A concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories, this new edition of Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories & Practice provides a thorough overview of the body of knowledge on the topic, and a clear outline of their relevance to everyday nursing practice. Linking the development of theory to practice, this full-updated text features learning outcomes, key concept summaries and reflective exercises to aid the study of this key element of all modern nursing courses. Special Features Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles Accessible and user-friendly with a range of features to help study, including key concepts, learning objectives and reflective exercises Useful for all pre-registration nursing students, as well as newly qualified nurses Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring case studies, multiple choice questions, exercises and activities
Guidelines for Perioperative Practice, 2022 Edition by 
Nursing Care Plans by
Get everything you need to create and customize effective nursing care plans, now with evidence-based ICNP® diagnoses! Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems, Gulanick & Myers' Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes, 10th Edition features more than 200 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international treatment protocols. It also features highlighted QSEN competencies and a clear differentiation of nursing and collaborative interventions. New to this edition are ICNP® diagnoses, care plans on LGBTQ health issues and on electrolytes and acid-base balance, and a new Online Care Planner that makes it easier than ever to customize care plans. Written by noted educators Meg Gulanick and Judith L. Myers, this #1 care planning book will help you learn to think like a nurse! 61 patient problem care plans include the most common/important patient problems, providing the building blocks for you to create your own individualized care plans. 164 disorder care plans cover virtually every common medical-surgical condition, organized by body system. Patient problem care plan format includes a definition/explanation of the diagnosis, related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions. Disorder care plan format covers synonyms for the disorder (for ease in cross referencing), a definition, common related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions for each relevant nursing diagnosis. Prioritized care planning guidance internally organizes care plans from "actual" to "risk" diagnoses, from general to specific interventions, and from independent to collaborative/interprofessional interventions, to help you select the most important, priority interventions for your particular patients. NEW! Updated care plans are now based on the evidence-based, complete, and internationally accepted International Classification of Nursing Practice (ICNP®) nursing diagnoses. NEW! 19 all-new care plans are featured in this edition. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the most current evidence-based practice and national and international guidelines. NEW! Online Care Planner on the Evolve website allows you to easily generate customized care plans based on the book's content. NEW! Improved focus on core content includes several care plans that have been moved from the book's Evolve website.
Pharmacology Case Studies for Nurse Prescribers by
nursing and midwifery, both in the community and the hospital setting. This much-needed book is aimed particularly at students on a non-medical prescribing (NMP) course as well as those nurses who are studying for their community practitioner non-medical prescribing qualification as part of the specialist practice programme. The book is also a useful resource for nursing students and registered nurses who administer and/or prescribe medicines.
RNotes® by
A Davis's Notes title! Your one-stop source for class, clinical, and practice! Access the clinically oriented content you need to deliver safe and effective health care in hospital and home settings for all of your patients. Its handy pocket size and waterproof pages are great for students and educators on the go, while NCLEX tips, highlighted throughout, make it perfect for those preparing for the licensure exam. See what students and practitioners are saying online about the previous edition... Five Stars. "Perfect and fits right in your scrubs pockets! Recommend for any nursing student or RN in the field."--Rachel Seaver Essential for first year nursing. "This flipbook is perfect for first year nurses because it presents valuable information in an easy to flip, erasable pad. The book has everything from lab values, CPR techniques, assessment data, insulin regimens, tables of meds that counteract each other, and I/O figures for measurement."--B. Emory Great reference without lugging heavy books around. "Worth every penny."--Brittany Bleu Has all the essential things you need for clinical... "All the info that you've learned but may not remember on the spot, has helped me immensely in clinical."--Kathryn Mathews
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: Includes NIH-funded research topics Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries Written by over 200 nursing research experts Organized alphabetically for easy access to information
Fast Facts for the Triage Nurse by
This is a concise, user-friendly orientation guide and reference for new and seasoned nurses, paramedics, preceptors, educators, management teams, and anyone else working in the triage environment. It offers guidelines covering key processes and practices triage nurses use daily. Chapters address core elements of triage such as patient point of entry, acuity scales, and "red-flag" patient presentations and how to handle them; coordination and communication with other health care team members; and documentation. The book offers practical information on triage for emergency department and urgent care settings, with useful tips for both triage orientees and preceptors. It addresses care considerations for specialized populations including geriatric and pediatric patients. The text supplies essential information on teaching and learning principles and the fostering of critical thinking skills, and covers such topics as compassion fatigue, customer service, legal concerns, core measures, and patient and staff safety. Trends in triage nursing such as electronic medical record considerations, provider in triage, and advanced triage protocols are included. Information is organized in brief, bulleted "bites" for knowledge at a glance, and Fast Facts in a Nutshell boxes reinforce key concepts. Key Features Provides essential guidance for key procedures and protocols in an easy-to-read, easy-to-access format Offers practical triage information with a focus on emergency department and urgent care settings Focuses on processes, critical thinking, and the legal aspects of triage Includes care considerations for specific patient populations Incorporates advice from seasoned emergency department nurses and triage educators
Nurse's Pocket Guide by
This pocket size portable reference is the perfect tool for you to use to select the appropriate diagnosis to plan your patient's care effectively. The 12th Edition features the latest nursing diagnoses and updated interventions. And, Davis's Nursing Diagnosis and Care Planning Resource Center online features a searchable database with 800 diagnoses plus a wealth of clinical tools and valuable information.
Nursing Diagnosis Manual by
Here is the step-by-step resource you will turn to-again and again-to select the appropriate diagnosis and develop accurate care plans. It also includes an alphabetical listing of all NANDA approved nursing diagnoses. Only in Doenges' Manual will you find for each diagnosis...defining characteristics presented subjectively and objectively, sample clinical applications to ensure you have selected the appropriate diagnoses, prioritized action/interventions with rationales, a documentation section, and much more! Plus the Health Conditions section includes over 800 diseases/disorders with associated diagnoses presented by priority! And, Davis's Nursing Diagnosis and Care Planning Resource Center online features a searchable database with 800 diagnoses plus a wealth of clinical tools and valuable information.
Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide by
A comprehensive, up-to-date drug guide for nursing students and practicing nurses, Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide provides quick A-to-Z access to current, vital drug information. The book provides complete monographs for 725 common drugs, including generic and trade names, pronunciations, pregnancy risk category, controlled substance schedule (if appropriate), drug classes, therapeutic actions, indications, contraindications and cautions, available forms, dosages, pharmacokinetics, IV facts (if appropriate), adverse effects, interactions, and nursing considerations organized by nursing process steps (assessment, interventions, and teaching points). The Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide is the only drug book that includes a DO NOT CRUSH" logo so nurses can quickly identify medications that should not be crushed - a key patient safety feature. More than 20 appendices cover a wealth of additional information, from key facts on more than 200 less commonly used drugs to alternative and complementary therapies, pediatric dosages, federal drug classifications, normal lab values, topical and ophthalmic drugs, combination products, CYP450 metabolized drugs, and more. The book also includes a 32-page full-color photoguide to pills and capsules and a detailed index for quick retrieval of needed information. The electronic ancillary, called the Web Toolkit, contains the latest FDA updates on new drugs, indications, and warnings; videos on safe drug administration; an audio pronunciatiion guide; an English-Spanish translator; mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs; updated NCLEX-style questions; a free CE test; bonus discounts; and more.
