Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Robert A. Copeland, Jr. M.D. Endowed Chair: Endowed Chair Committee

Dr. Copeland Endowed Chair Committee

Committee Chair:

  • Leslie S. Jones, MD (Chair, Department of Ophthalmology, HUH)

Committee Members:

  • Clive O. Callender, MD (Chair (emeritus), Department of Surgery, HUH)
  • Edward E. Cornwell, III, MD (Chair, Department of Surgery, HUH)
  • Terry L. Thompson, MD (Chair, Department of Orthopedics, HUH) 
  • Rebat M. Halder, MD (Chair, (emeritus), Department of Dermatology, HUH) 
  • Ms. Young-Joo Lee, MA, MS (Instructor, Department of Ophthalmology, HUH)
  • Oluwatosin Smith, MD
  • Regine Pappas, MD
  • Prisca Diala, MD
  • Mr. Sidney Evans

Message from Dr. Leslie S. Jones

Dear Friends:

Although stunned and saddened by Dr. Copeland's untimely passing, we are comforted by your myriad expression of condolences, generosity, kindness and thoughtfulness. 

To recognize and honor Dr. Copeland's many contribution to his patients, to his trainees, to Howard University, and to his community, the Robert A. Copeland, Jr. M.D. Endowed Chair has been established with Howard University. Please click on the "Donation Support" tab above to get detailed information on how to make donation. 

If you want more information about the Endowed Chair, do not hesitate to contact me: (202) 865-3302 or 

Dr. Copeland has left us an indelible legacy. I invite you to partner with me to sustain his Vision. 


Leslie S. Jones, M.D.

Chair, Robert A. Copeland Jr. M.D. Endowed Chair Committee

Associate Professor and Chair

Howard University Department of Ophthalmology

Dr. Leslie Jones' Tribute to Dr. Copeland

Dr. Copeland - Advocate, Mentor, Friend, Surgeon

Leslie S. Jones, MD and Mrs. Candie Copeland at Robert A. Copeland , Jr. Memorial Lecture, National Medical Association Annual Meeting, Philadelphia Convention Center, June 29, 2017

Image Map