Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology by
Be prepared to diagnose and manage any condition you encounter in your practice! This bestselling reference gives you direct access to a complete range of full-color clinical images and patient radiographs that illustrate the differentiating characteristics of lesions in the oral and maxillofacial region. Significantly revised and updated content throughout this edition brings you the latest information on the etiology, clinical features, histopathology, treatment, and prognosis of each disease entity, as well as cutting-edge topics such as bisphosphonate osteonecrosis, the oral complications associated with methamphetamine abuse, solitary fibrous tumors, gene mutation, and plasminogen deficiency. Comprehensive contemporary overview of oral and maxillofacial pathology includes a brief description of each individual lesion or pathologic condition and the kind of pathologic process that it represents, followed by a discussion of its clinical and/or radiographic presentation, histopathologic features, and its treatment and prognosis. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos facilitate the identification and classification of lesions and disease states. Up-to-date concepts of pathogenesis and disease management help you understand the diseases that affect oral and maxillofacial structures, formulate an accurate diagnosis, and institute proper treatment. Logical organization by body system or disease process makes it easy to look up specific conditions. Comprehensive appendix on differential diagnosis organizes disease entities according to their most prominent or identifiable clinical features, helping you find and formulate differential diagnoses. Information on forensic dentistry, methamphetamine, and gene mutations addresses some of today's leading topics in oral pathology research. Differential diagnosis case studies on the Evolve companion website include correct answers and rationales, offering more opportunities to improve your identification skills and diagnostic competency. NEW cutting-edge content includes pathologies and conditions such as localized juvenile spongiotic gingival hyperplasia, oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers, oropharyngeal carcinomas related to human papillomavirus (HPV), IgG4-related disease and mammary analogue secretory carcinomas, Globodontia, Lobodontia, Leishmaniasis, and Xanthelasma. Over 130 NEW full-color photos and over 40 NEW radiographs bring common and uncommon disease states more clearly to life.
Clinical Review of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by
With cases reflecting the classic presentation format of each disease process, this book prepares students for patient encounters during their oral and maxillofacial surgery rotations. It also helps residents learn and review "high yield" material that is commonly found in oral and maxillofacial training and on board examinations. It highlights clinical information that is commonly asked during rounds, in the operating room, and during examinations. For each case, it includes an overview of the most common clinical presentation, physical exam findings, diagnostic tools, complications, treatment, and a discussion of any controversial issues that may surround the case. The authors describe Clinical Review of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery as "A little reach for the dental student, right on target for the OMS resident, and a strong refresher for OMS board certification." "I found this book expressly informative...I would most definitely recommend this book" Reviewed by British Dental Journal, Dec 2014 Case-based approach incorporates teaching around real patient scenarios to actively engage and raise your interest and retention of the information. 103 cases, many of which are new, represent the full scope of modern oral and maxillofacial surgery practice to encompass the most common and significant implications for modern clinical practice, including content emphasized on OMS boards and training exams. Detailed illustrations including one or more radiographs, full-color clinical photographs, or drawings for the majority of cases provide a visual guide to conditions, techniques, diagnoses, and key concepts that will further enhance your understanding and retention of all content. Content that''s perfect for all levels of study or practice covers both concepts and techniques that residents and pre-doctoral students can apply in the clinical setting, and the preparation tools necessary for oral and maxillofacial surgery boards and training/certification examinations. NEW! Full-color illustrations and photos give you a better pictures of common surgical techniques and pathology. NEW! Chapter 6: Dental Implant Surgery discusses the contemporary issues related to dental implants - specifically the routine placement of maxillary and mandibular implants, sinus augmentation, zygoma implants, treatment of edentulism, guided implant surgery, extraction socket preservation, and implantology for the esthetic zone. NEW! Section on cone beam computed tomography (CBCT) highlights the role of imaging from diagnosis to image guidance for many surgical procedures. NEW! Section on the advantages of computer assisted surgery highlights virtual surgical planning for a patient who presents for combined surgical and orthodontic correction of his facial asymmetry and apertognathia. NEW! Section on trigeminal neuralgia (TN) walks you through the diagnosis and possible treatments for a patient suffering from trigeminal neuralgia, the signs and symptoms that uniquely define the disorder, and the clinician''s ability to recognize the specific diagnostic pattern. NEW! Section on neck dissection, an important aspect of head and neck cancer treatment, provides a case that involves a patient in which right selective neck dissection (I-III) was conducted on the right neck and a selective left neck dissection (I-V) was completed on the left side. NEW! Section on dentoalveolar trauma presents a new case that takes you through diagnosing and treating a patient who presents with anterior maxillary alveolar segment fractures involving teeth #7-9, with lateral luxation and Ellis class III fracture tooth of #9, and an intraoral laceration of the upper lip. NEW! Section on nasal septoplasty addresses a patient with a severely deviated nasal septum to the left, involving the quadrangular cartilage and the bony septum and how septoplasty can make a dramatic change in the patient''s quality of life, by facilitating nasal airflow, allowing for better spontaneous drainage of the paranasal sinuses, possibly reducing mouth breathing, and reducing or eliminating the symptoms of snoring, and perhaps lessening the severity of the obstructive sleep apnea syndrome.
Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp Expert Consult by
Stay up on the latest research and techniques in endodontics with Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp, 12th Edition. Written by a team of internationally renowned experts and trusted for more than 40 years, this definitive guide covers the science, theory, and practice of endodontics. Full color illustrations and detailed radiographs guide readers through each step of endodontic care - from diagnosis and treatment planning to proven techniques for managing pulpal and periapical diseases. This new twelfth edition also boasts the very latest evidence-based research and techniques, reorganized and condensed chapters, plus other features designed to help you locate important information quickly and easily. Complete with access to Expert Consult, it's everything you need to stay ahead in the field of endodontics. Extensive illustration collection includes over 2,000 full-color photos, line art, and radiographs to clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce the essential principles and techniques of endodontics. Video clips and case studies demonstrate key procedures such as palpation of the masseter muscle, introsseous anesthesia with the X-tip system, dentin hypersensitivity, and more. Diverse and respected contributor pool includes experts from many national- and international-based dental education programs. NEW! Updated content and new images incorporate the most recent developments in research and clinical endodontic techniques. NEW! Additional topics cover pulp biology, pathobiology, diagnosis, treatment planning, pain control, isolation, access, cleaning and shaping, obturation, restoration, assessment of outcomes, emergencies and surgery. Each online topic comes with assigned reading lists, a PowerPoint lecture, written lesson objectives, and example exam questions. NEW! Compliance with the Commission on Dental Accreditation Curriculum ensures that the needs of all dental programs are met. NEW! Reorganized sections now divide chapters by those covering clinical endodontics, those covering the biological basis of endodontics, and chapters which detail endodontics in private practice to make content easier for both clinicians and students to navigate. NEW! Condensed chapters remove unnecessary duplication of content across the text and make the physical text lighter and easier to use.
Color Atlas of Dental Implant Surgery by
Use this atlas-style guide to master implant procedures and techniques! Written by leading expert Michael S. Block, DMD, Color Atlas of Dental Implant Surgery, 3rd Edition provides clear, full-color clinical photos and practical instructions covering a wide range of implant challenges. It takes you through treatment planning, presurgical guidelines, detailed surgical techniques, and postoperative follow-up. This edition adds more case studies, coverage of computed tomography, and a new DVD with videos of 14 surgical procedures filmed by the author. With this book, you'll be able to address any implant-related situation and achieve optimal results! Over 1,500 full-color photographs and drawings depict important concepts and techniques, and show treatment from beginning to end. Clear step-by-step procedures include indications, contraindications, and treatment results for each procedure. Case studies throughout the book explore realistic clinical scenarios, each with a variant. Chapters are organized by oral anatomy and surgical technique, with each chapter presenting a different area of the mouth or a specific surgical technique. NEW! Thoroughly revised and updated content reflects the latest information and advancements in dental implant surgery. NEW! 60+ video clips on a companion website clearly demonstrate the nuances and techniques of implant procedures that can't be seen in still photos. NEW! Information on the placement of implants into single tooth sites with tooth removal looks at three clinical scenarios that can help you decide on the best timing of treatment. NEW! Coverage of the placement of implants immediately into mandibular molar sites addresses criteria for immediate placement, implant selection, and surgical technique. NEW! Exploration of grafting the thin maxilla, with an accompanying case study, looks at how to best handle patients who present with a thin, narrow alveolar bone, which does not allow implant placement. NEW! Section on the use of interpositional osteotomy to restore missing vertical bone in the esthetic zone discusses how to manage vertical bone deficiency in the esthetic zone by moving the vertical bone inferiorly using an interpositional osteotomy. NEW! Section on the crestal approach for sinus elevation addresses implant site preparation and surgical technique.
Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by
One of the most respected dental surgery books in the world, Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 7th Edition helps you develop skills in evaluation, diagnosis, and patient management. This comprehensive text on oral surgery procedures features full-color photographs and drawings that show how to perform basic surgical techniques, including an overview of more advanced surgical procedures and the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology. A detailed patient evaluation section includes guidelines on when to refer patients to specialists and how to provide supportive postoperative care. New to this edition is a chapter focusing on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions. Written by well-known OMS educators James R. Hupp, and Edward Ellis III, and Myron R. Tucker, this book is a valuable reference for dentistry and dental hygiene students alike! UPDATED! Chapter, Contemporary Implant Dentistry, includes new and updated implant surgical techniques and virtual planning. UPDATED! Chapter, Treatment of Complex Implant Cases, features new and updated cases requiring more complex treatment, including bone augmentation surgery in combination with implants. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Sinus Disease updated outline of the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient with sinus disease, including endoscopic therapy. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Medication-related Osteonecrosis of the Jaw outlines the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient. UPDATED! Facial Cosmetic Surgery chapter is organized by nonsurgical and surgical procedures, covering popular procedures such as dermal fillers, botox, facial resurfacing, browlift and forehead procedures, blepharoplasty, rhinoplasty, and rhytidectomy. UPDATED! Content on implants, new instruments, and the latest technology help you treat your patients more effectively. Basic techniques of evaluation, diagnosis, and medical management described in enough detail to facilitate immediate clinical application. Excellent instrumentation chapter covers a wide variety of instruments and tray set-ups that OMS surgeons use. Complex Exodontia chapter describes techniques for surgical tooth extraction, including the principles of flap design, development, management, and suturing, as well as open extraction of single- and multi-rooted teeth, multiple extractions, and concomitant alveoloplasty. Hundreds of detailed, close-up photographs of intraoperative sites clarify textual descriptions Coverage of complex OMS procedures give you a basic understanding of what you will face later in advanced OMS cases. NEW! Chapter, Anesthesia in Dentistry focuses on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions including local anesthesia and nitrous oxide sedation. NEW! Expert Consult TM eBook version included with purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, pharmacokinetics, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use. Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes a primer on the management of medically compromised patients, and the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and improving medication safety. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names. Evolve website includes more than 100 additional monographs, including new monographs on monoclonal antibodies, images of common pathologic conditions, and information on common oral complications, alternative medicine, and drugs of abuse. NEW! More than 70 new monographs are included on the Evolve website for newly released, FDA-approved monoclonal antibody drugs, plus up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry by
A concise and visual guide to clinically relevant anatomy for dentistry, Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry is an effective text for class and exam preparation, as well as a quick review in professional practice. Concise text, high-yield tables, clinical correlations, and review questions combine to make this new edition a perfect choice for learning and remembering the need-to-know structures, relationships, and concepts, while beautiful illustrations created in the Netter tradition enhance your visual mastery of the material. You may also be interested in: A companion set of flash cards, Netter's Advanced Head & Neck Anatomy Flash Cards, 3rd Edition. Over 100 multiple-choice questions complete with explanations help you assess your knowledge of the material and prepare for exams. Identify clinically relevant anatomy with Netter illustrations and new art created in the Netter tradition. Concise text and high-yield tables offer fast access to important facts. Procedures coverage gives context and clinical meaning to the anatomy. Expanded, up-to-date coverage on dental implants, cone beam imaging, and mandible osteology. Beautiful new illustrations by Carlos Machado, MD, of the TMJ, articular disc pathology, infratemporal fossa, pterygopalatine fossa, and maxillary artery. Interactive eBook included with print purchase, which includes access to the full text, interactive images, case studies, additional assessment questions, video clips from cone beam CTs, and a rotatable 3D skull.
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery - E-Book by
This trusted, three-volume resource covers the full scope of oral and maxillofacial surgery with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of surgical procedures performed today. NEW! Full color design provides a more vivid depiction of pathologies, concepts, and procedures. NEW! Expert Consult website includes all of the chapters from the print text plus "classic" online-only chapters and an expanded image collection, references linked to PubMed, and periodic content updates. NEW! Thoroughly revised and reorganized content reflects current information and advances in OMS. NEW! New chapters on implants and orthognathic surgery cover the two areas where oral and maxillofacial surgeons have been expanding their practice. NEW! Digital formats are offered in addition to the traditional print text and provide on-the-go access via mobile tablets and smart phones.
Endodontics by
From renowned endodontics experts Mahmoud Torabinejad, Ashraf Fouad, and Shahrokh Shabahang comes Endodontics: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition. This focused and extensively revised new edition contains all the clinically-relevant information needed to incorporate endodontics into general dentistry practice. Illustrated step-by-step guidelines and vivid online videos address the ins and outs of diagnosis, treatment planning, managing pulpal and periapical diseases, and performing basic root canal treatments. Updated evidence-based coverage also includes topics such as the etiology of disease, local anesthesia, emergency treatment, obturation, and temporization. It's the perfect endodontics guide for both entry-level dental students and general dentists alike. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Well-known, international contributors share guidelines, expertise, and their clinical experience with contemporary technologies and procedures. Authoritative, visually detailed coverage provides a practical understanding of basic endodontic principles and procedures, including pulpal and periapical diseases and their management. Clinically-relevant organization reflects the order in which procedures are performed in clinical settings, enhancing your understanding of the etiology and treatment of teeth with pulpal and periapical diseases. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations ensure a clear, accurate understanding of procedures, and include radiographs and clinical photographs. Learning objectives help you meet the theoretical and procedural expectations for each chapter. More than 67 video clips located on the companion website demonstrate essential procedures. NEW! Sharper focus on the most clinically relevant content eliminates much of the basic science that you have already studied and focuses on the information and skills that are most-needed during clinical practice. NEW! Fully updated, evidence-based content integrates the best clinical evidence with the practitioner's clinical expertise and the patient's treatment needs and preferences. NEW! Expert Consult access is included via a unique pin-code to make the text relevant for both practitioners and students alike. NEW! Mid-chapter questions check your understanding of the concept before moving onto the next topic.
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Dentistry** Enhance your skills in patient assessment, oral diagnosis, and treatment planning! A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations. Written by noted dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this must-have resource includes a fully searchable eBook version free with each print purchase. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, the treatment planning process, the five phases of the treatment plan, and care planning for all patients. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. In Clinical Practice boxes summarize information on specific clinical situations for quick and easy review. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address clinical situations where ethical decision making may be required. Review questions summarize and reinforce the important concepts in each chapter. 350 full-color illustrations depict important concepts. NEW! Updated content in all chapters. NEW! An eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, additional videos and all-new case-based practice quizzes for each chapter. NEW! Digital Tools chapter focuses on the use of digital tools in diagnosis and treatment planning.
How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Clinical Decision-Making by Please click on the link above to view the full-text eBook of How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Clinical Decision-Making from the American Dental Association (ADA). You have the option to:
1. View the full-text eBook online.
2. Download the eBook for 21 days (requires 3rd party software).
3. Download individual chapters or up to 91 pages total as PDF's.
