Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library: Library Info

Library Info

Library Hours

Fall 2022

Mon - Thu: 8:00 am - Midnight

Fri: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

Sat - Sun: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm

The Library is closed for all federal holidays.

Assistance is also available with chat or email during the same hours. 

Library resources are always available 24/7.

Address

501 W. Street, NW

Washington, DC 20059

(202) 884-1520 

healthscienceslibrary@howard.edu

 

Need research assistance?

(202) 884-1420 or healthscienceslibrary@howard.edu

Library Liaisons

 

 

 

 

Dr. Fatima M. Barnes 

Executive Director

 

 

Jeremy Gunnoe

Assistant Director

Liaison, College of Medicine and College of Dentistry

 

Amelia Catalano

Resource Sharing; Inter-Library Loan (ILL)

 

 

 

Emily Joseph 

Liaison, Howard University Hospital; GME

 

 

Jherusha L. Lambert

Liaison, College of Pharmacy;

College of Nursing and Allied Health

 

 

 

About Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library (LSHSL)

Named in honor of the venerable congressman for his thirty-year crusade combating disparities in health care, the Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library (LSHSL) is a health information resource for the University's medical, dental, pharmacy, nursing, and allied health sciences, students, and faculty. The LSHSL is also equipped to serve the health information needs of individual patients, healthcare providers, the community, and researchers in general.

Spread over 80,000 square feet and towering at four levels of one of the most iconic buildings on campus, the LSHSL has two elevators and offers space to meet various needs of the Howard community. Some of the meeting rooms are fully equipped to multicast presentations and discussions that foster collaboration between internal and external stakeholders.

The Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library is a resource library for the National Networks of Libraries of Medicine of the National Library of Medicine. The library is also one of nine libraries that belong to the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC), which supports and enhances member libraries and information services of universities in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. The WRLC enables the success of learning and scholarship by creating coordinated collections, designing a robust infrastructure for discovery and access, and ensuring the long-term preservation of physical and digital information resources and sharing expertise.

The library is affiliated with the Medical Library Association as well as the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL).  The AAHSL comprises the libraries serving the accredited U.S. and Canadian medical schools belonging to or affiliated with the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). It includes other related libraries and organizations that lead in resolving information and knowledge management problems in the health care environment.

Staffing

The library is staffed by four librarians (including the Executive Director) and three technical assistants. The Executive Director reports to the Provost and Chief Academic Officer of the University.

Information Resources

The LSHSL collection transitioned from print-based to electronic in 2014 to provide online access to high-quality digital assets. Access to 2,686 electronic journals, 5,578 eBooks, and 40 fee-based databases are available on-campus and remotely.  WRLC shares its collections with Howard University, which makes thousands more of e-books available to LSHSL customers.  The library provides immediate and multiple routes of access to electronic resources including full-text journals, full-text books, evidence-based practice tools, indexes, and databases.

The LSHSL Facilities

          Overview

  • The library offers seating for 600, including study carrels with club chairs, throughout the LSHSL in traditional and non-traditional settings.
  • In addition to campus-wide wireless connection, power and data ports facilitate easy laptop computer use and data retrieval.
  • There are 19 group- and single-study rooms in total:  11 small study rooms each have a table and 4 chairs; 8 Problem Based Learning rooms are furnished with a table, and seats 10.  A whiteboard is mounted in each of these rooms.

Ground Floor

  • The university seal on the floor of the LSHSL Gallery welcomes all patrons to the library. The Gallery is adorned with memorabilia of Louis Stokes and accommodates up to 75 people.
  • Equipped with a projector, portable video equipment, retractable screen, whiteboards, and desktop network ports for laptop computers, the Video Distance Learning Room allows students and instructors to interact with other medical universities and hospitals.
  • The networked Telemedicine Room enables health professionals to share data and discuss cases with physicians at remote sites.
  • The Harold J. Kaplan Multimedia Room is equipped with 23 computer workstations and seats 30.
  • College of Medicine’s Class of 1955 Student Lounge has six tables, seating for 24, three beverage vending machines, a microwave, and a television.

Second Floor

  • Eight Problem-Based Learning rooms are used for seminars and group study spaces. There is a total of 96 chairs and 48 tables.
  • With seating for 23, the Faculty Reading Room offers a tranquil venue for reading, writing, or relaxing.
  • The eLab has 24 computer workstations. There are whiteboards and dropdown screens and projectors in computer labs; In addition to PCs in the computer labs, 12 MAC computers are available for patrons.

Third Floor

  • The Special Collections Stacks provide a secure and controlled environment for the preservation of historical materials (rare books, artifacts, manuscripts) documenting the health sciences history of the University and Howard University Hospital.  It also serves as a repository for the intellectual contributions of African American health practitioners.
  • With built-in wood and glass cabinetry lining the walls, the Special Collections Reading Room is a pleasant space for the display and use of special collections and archival materials.

Fourth Floor

  • The Fourth Floor open space accommodates about 150 persons. This popular room is used for special events and also converts into a study area.  Adjacent to this space is the intimate Dr. George Jones Conference Room with scenic views of Freedmen’s Square, where the Freedmen’s Hospital was initially established to aid in the medical treatment of former slaves in Washington, D.C. In 1868, six years after its founding, Freedmen’s Hospital became a teaching hospital for the Howard University Medical School.
     
  • Under the leadership of the Director of Academic Information Resources, the Health Science Testing Center is located on the 4th floor of the Louis Stokes Health Science Library. There are 130 workstations, study carrels, and student lockers.

 

 

 

Circulating Books

Books that are available to be checked out and removed from the library are located on the first floor.

  • Undergraduate students may check out books for 21 days
  • Graduate students may check out books for 42 days
  • Faculty may check out books for one semester

Materials Limited for Use in the Library Only
Reserves

Reserve books are located on the first floor behind the front desk and are for use in the library only. Reserve books may be checked out for a period of 3 hours.

Medical Materials

Medical Materials listed below may be checked out for a period of 3 hours

Bone boxes

Selected anatomical components

  • Brain
  • Eye
  • Hip
  • Vertebrae

Anatomy Flash Cards

Dental Hygiene Decks

Reference & Instruction

Students and faculty can contact a liaison librarian to make an appointment for a research consultation. Faculty can make a request for a librarian to visit your classroom or schedule time for your class to visit the library. 

Topics may include but are not limited to:

  • Introductory and advanced uses of PubMed and discipline specific resources
  • Research strategies
  • Overview of library services
  • Citation management options (RefWorks, dababase specific options, etc.)

Group Study Rooms

Students can check out group study rooms on the library homepage (hsl.howard.edu) or at the Access Services Desk at the library.

Small Study Room (2 people minimum to reserve; seats up to 4)

Large Study Room (4 people minimum to reserve; seats up to 10)                                  

Single Study Room (1 person only; Students studying for Boards have priority access) 

Dr. Fatima Barnes, EDD, MPH, MSIS, MBA

Executive Director

(202) 884-1723 / fatima.barnes@howard.edu

Jeremy Gunnoe, MSLIS

Assistant Director of Operations; Medical Librarian

(202) 884-1507 / jeremy.gunnoe@howard.edu

Lawren Dyson

Administrative Assistant; Events Management

(202) 884-1526 / lawren.dyson@howard.edu

Amelia Catalano

Resource Sharing Librarian

(202) 884-1727 / amelia.catalano@howard.edu

 

Emily Joseph

Clinical Librarian

(202) 884-1508 / emily.joseph@howard.edu

Jherusha L. Lambert

Medical Librarian

(202) 250-5120 / jherusha.lambert@howard.edu

   

 

Yelena Suprunova

Digital Resources Librarian

(202) 884-1730 / yelena.suprunova@howard.edu

Edmund Essah Ameyaw, PhD, M.Phil.

Research Coordinator

(202) 884-1729 / edmundessah.ameyaw@howard.edu

Deborah (Webb) McKenzie

Access Services

(202) 884-1520 / dwebb@howard.edu

Lawrence Tucker

Access Services

(202) 884-1520 / lawrence.tucker@howard.edu

 

www.wrlc.org

***Updated 8/27/21: The library is open to all consortia members with proof of vaccination.***

The Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) was established as a non-profit corporation in 1987 to support and enhance the library and information services of universities in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. Currently, our partner universities are: 

The WRLC enables the success of learning and scholarship by creating coordinated collections, creating a robust infrastructure for discovery and access, ensuring the long-term preservation of physical and digital information resources and sharing expertise.

 

FAQ’s

Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library

(updated 03/25/22)

My password has expired, what should I do?

Your login and password are the same as your Howard email address and password. If you’ve forgotten your password, please contact Enterprise Technology Services (ETS) at huhelpdesk@howard.edu or (202) 806-2020.

Can I print at LSHSL?

No. Printing is available at the iLab (at the corner of Georgia Ave. and Bryant St. NW) and the Computer Lab @ Founder's Library.  You can also utilize the paid printing services at the Shaw Neighborhood Library or the nearest UPS Store (both on 7th St. 1-2 blocks south of Florida Ave.)

Do you have to be a Health Sciences student to enter the library?

No. All HU and HUH students, faculty and staff, and WRLC members may use the library.

How do I reserve a study room?

Go to our website at https://hsl.howard.edu and click on the link to the right of the page that says “Book a Study Room”.

Do you have to be a Health Sciences student to check out a study room?

Yes. In addition, you must have two (2) students minimum for small study rooms and four (4) students minimum for the Problem-Based Learning (PBL) rooms.  

Who can borrow from the library?

Howard University students, faculty, and staff, other consortium members can borrow materials from the Health Sciences library

Can we bring food into the library?

Food is allowed in the café area on the 1st floor behind the security desk.

Can Reserve books and materials be checked out?

Reserve books and materials are located behind the circulation desk and can be checked out for 3 hrs with a HU ID (or WRLC ID) but can ONLY be used in the Health Sciences Library.

Can I check out materials from another library in the WRLC consortium?

Yes, you have study privileges and can check out materials from other WRLC consortium libraries that Howard University is affiliated with (see WRLC link). Some restrictions may apply, so we recommend you check with the library before you visit. . You can also request that the book be delivered to the Health Sciences Library (this usually takes 2-3 days) or you can go to that University and pick the materials up.

What are the library hours?

Library hours are subject to change and will always be posted in the library, on the library’s website, and the library’s social media pages.

Image Map