Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Structure and Function: Unit 1 - REQUIRED TEXTS
Medical Physiology by The 12th edition of Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology continues this bestselling title's long tradition as one of the world's favorite physiology textbooks. The immense success of this book is due to its description of complex physiologic principles in language that is easy to read and understand. Now with an improved color art program, thorough updates reflecting today's medicine and science, and accessible online at studentconsult.com, this textbook is an excellent source for mastering essential human physiology knowledge. Learn and remember vital concepts easily thanks to short, easy-to-read, masterfully edited chapters and a user-friendly full-color design. See core concepts applied to real-life situations with clinical vignettes throughout the text. Discover the newest in physiology with updates that reflect the latest advances in molecular biology, cardiovascular, neurophysiology and gastrointestinal topics. Visualize physiologic principles clearly with over 1000 bold, full-color drawings and diagrams. Distinguish core concepts from more in-depth material with a layout that uses gray shading to clearly differentiate between "need-to-know" and "nice-to-know" information. Access the complete contents online at studentconsult.com along with bonus resources such as image banks, self-assessment questions, physiology animations and more! This new edition continues the long tradition of "Guyton" as one of the world's favorite physiology textbooks
Publication Date: 2010-06-15
Histology and Cell Biology by Histology and Cell Biology: An Introduction to Pathology uses a wealth of vivid, full-color images to help you master histology and cell biology. Dr. Abraham L. Kierszenbaum presents an integrated approach that correlates normal histology with cellular and molecular biology, pathology, and clinical medicine throughout the text. A unique pictorial approach--through illustrative diagrams, photomicrographs, and pathology photographs--paired with bolded words, key clinical terms in red, and clinical boxes and "Essential Concepts" boxes that summarize important facts give you everything you need to prepare for your course exams as well as the USMLE Step 1.Access to studentconsult.com, with USMLE-style multiple-choice review questions, downloadable images, and online only references. Easily find and cross-reference information through a detailed table of contents that highlights clinical examples in red. Review material quickly using pedagogical features, such as Essential Concept boxes, bolded words, and key clinical terms marked in red, that emphasize key details and reinforce your learning. Integrate cell biology and histology with pathology thanks to vivid descriptive illustrations that compare micrographs with diagrams and pathological images. Apply the latest developments in pathology through updated text and new illustrations that emphasize appropriate correlations. Expand your understanding of clinical applications with additional clinical case boxes that focus on applying cell and molecular biology to clinical conditions. Effectively review concepts and reinforce your learning using new Concept Map flow charts that provide a framework to illustrate the integration of cell-tissue-structure-function within a clinical-pathology context.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Atlas of Human Anatomy by The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Structure and Function: Unit 1 - RECOMMENDED OPTIONAL TEXTS
Berne and Levy Physiology by Berne and Levy Physiology has long been respected for its scientifically rigorous approach and now includes major updates to bring you all of the latest knowledge in the field. Bruce M. Koeppen and Bruce A. Stanton present a honed and shortened edition that emphasizes the core information needed by students of physiology today and features a full-color design and artwork to enhance readability and enrich your comprehension of every concept. With access to the full contents online at Student Consult, this time-honored book delivers an in-depth understanding of physiology more powerfully and effectively than ever before. Describes all of the mechanisms that control and regulate bodily function using a clear and intuitive organ system-based approach. Provides a rich understanding of the body's dynamic processes through key experimental observations and examples. Includes Student Consult access to the complete and searchable contents of the book online, as well as relevant bonus content from other Student Consult titles, an image gallery, 10 physiology animations, and much more. Features updated coverage throughout to expand your understanding of the most current trends in physiology and medicine, including the latest cellular and molecular knowledge. Includes shaded boxes that highlight and explain important clinical and molecular information. Presents new section editors who ensure that you are getting the freshest, most clinically relevant information available today. Summarizes need-to-know information in each chapter with Key Points sections.
Publication Date: 2009-12-21
Netter's Essential Histology by Netter's Essential Histology integrates gross anatomy and embryology with classic histology slides and cutting-edge scanning electron microscopy to give you a rich visual understanding of this complex subject. This histology textbook-atlas has a strong anatomy foundation and utilizes a variety of visual elements - including Netter illustrations and light and electron micrographs - to teach you the most indispensable histologic concepts and their clinical relevance. Excellent as both a reference and a review, Netter's Essential Histology will serve you well at any stage of your healthcare career. Gain a rich understanding of this vital subject through the succinct explanatory histology text. Learn to recognize both normal and diseased structures at the microscopic level with the aid of succinct explanatory text as well as numerous clinical boxes. Access the entire contents and ancillary components online at Student Consult, view images and histology slides at different magnifications, and watch new narrated video overviews of each chapter. Take your learning one step further with the purchase of Netter's Histology Flash Cards (sold separately), designed to reinforce your understanding of how the human body works in health as well as illness and injury. Thoroughly comprehend how function is linked to structure through brand-new electron micrographs, many of which have been enhanced and colorized to show ultra-structures in 3D.
Publication Date: 2013-04-10
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Fifteenth Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The text that has defined histology for generations--concise, clear, beautifully illustrated, and better than ever A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For more than four decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has built a global reputation as the most accessible, yet comprehensive overview of human tissue structure and function available. This trusted classic delivers a well-organized and concise presentation of cell biology and histology that integrates the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology, and provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology - and there is nothing else like it. FEATURES *Electron and light micrographs comprise a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures *NEW! Each chapter now includes a set of multiple-choice self-test questions that allow you to assess your comprehension of important material, with some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance *Summary of Key Points and Summary Tables highlight what is important and present it in a way that makes it memorable *Streamlined page design --including concise, high-yield paragraphs; bullets; and bolded key terms *Acclaimed art and other figures facilitate learning and visualization of key aspects of cell biology and histology *A cohesive organization examines how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems *Clinical Correlations presented with each topic *All-inclusive coverage encompasses all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more *Valuable appendix on light microscopy stains clearly explains this need-to-know staining technique
Publication Date: 2018-08-09