Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management by
Anesthesiologists, residents, and advanced practice practitioners alike rely upon the comprehensive content of Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management to remain proficient in this essential area. The 4th Edition, by Drs. Carin A. Hagberg, Carlos A. Artime, and Michael F. Aziz, continues the tradition of excellence with coverage of new devices and algorithms, new research, new outcomes reporting, and much more - while retaining a concise, how-to approach; carefully chosen illustrations; and case examples and analysis throughout. Offers expert, full-color guidance on pre- and post-intubation techniques and protocols, from equipment selection through management of complications. Includes access to more than 25 videos online, including ultrasonography and non-invasive airway management and flexible scope intubation. Includes the latest ASA guidelines, as well as six all-new chapters including airway management in nonoperating room locations (NORA), airway management and outcomes reporting, and more. Features completely rewritten chapters on airway pharmacology, algorithms for management of the difficult airway, airway assessment, video-assisted laryngoscopy, and many more. Reviews new airway devices and techniques, along with indications for and confirmation of tracheal intubation. Brings you up to date with the latest devices, the DAS extubation algorithm, the Vortex approach, and emergency cricothyrotomy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Bronchoscopy and Central Airway Disorders by
Bronchoscopy and Central Airway Disorders provides the guidance you need to plan and implement the most effective bronchoscopy procedure for every patient. Through specifically-designed case scenarios with correlating review questions and videos, this practical respiratory medicine reference leads you through the decision-making process and execution of these sometimes complex procedures, as well as the optimal long-term management of your patients.Master various bronchoscopic approaches and techniques necessary to treat a variety of malignancies that may occur in the trachea or lungs. Consider the rationale and weigh the consequences of each approach. Case resolutions at the end of each chapter --with commentary and alternative approaches from 36 key experts in interventional bronchoscopy -- illustrate the decision-making process from patient evaluation through long-term management. Reinforce learning by correlating key concepts and practice through study questions related to each clinical scenario. See exactly how to proceed with high-quality videos online that capture crucial teaching moments and provide a walkthrough of sometimes complex procedures including the placement of airway stents via bronchoscopy for a variety of diseases and complications, such as airway collapse due to COPD. Systematically think through diagnostic and interventional (therapeutic) bronchoscopic procedures using Dr. Colt s unique "Four Box" approach: Initial Evaluation; Procedural Techniques and Results; Procedural Strategies; and Long-term Management Plan. Access the full text online at www.expertconsult.com, along with image and video libraries, review questions, and more "
Clinical Asthma by
This unique new text delivers practical guidelines on diagnosing and treating patients with asthma. Drs. Castro and Kraft are extensively involved in asthma research and improved patient care, and their comprehensive coverage of key challenges in diagnosing and treating asthma makes this a must have resource. The organized full-color format ensures readability, and helps you find information quickly and easily.Offers up-to-date protocols and management guidelines to help you provide the best care for your patients. Presents chapters on special situations and special populations to help you overcome clinical challenges such as the difficult-to-control or pregnant asthma patient. Provides specialized sections on asthma education to give guidance on leading your patients to better self management by improving their adherence to treatment guidelines. Highlights material found on the Asthma Educator Certification exam in special education boxes. Offers expert guidance on translating the new NIH EPR-3 Asthma Guidelines to hands-on patient care. Organized in a consistent chapter format that provides concise, logical coverage of essential information for easy reference. Contains special boxes that highlight clinical pearls, controversial issues, and patient education information. Uses a full-color format that makes it easy to find information quickly."
Copd Primary Care E-Book Eb by
COPD (the spectrum of diseases including chronic bronchitis, emphysema, long-standing irreversible asthma and small airways disease) is one of the most common and important respiratory disorders seen in primary care. It affects 1 in 10 people over the age of 65, with an estimated figure of 600 000 people diagnosed with COPD to date OCo with the true figure likely to be much higher."
Current Diagnosis and Treatment in Pulmonary Medicine by
Offering a reference for diagnosing and managing patients with pulmonary disorders, this text covers essentials of the pulmonary history, the physical exam, as well as key tests and procedures needed to evaluate patients. It also features diagnostic and treatment algorithms and essentials of diagnosis lists for almost every major disorder.
Kendig and Chernick's Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children by
Kendig, Chernick's Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children is the definitive medical reference book to help you confront critical challenges using the latest knowledge and techniques. You'll get the state-of-the-art answers you need to offer the best care to young patients. Tackle the toughest challenges and improve patient outcomes with coverage of all the common and rare respiratory problems found in newborns and children worldwide. Get a solid foundation of knowledge to better understand and treat your patients through coverage of the latest basic science and its relevance to clinical problems. Get comprehensive, authoritative coverage on today's hot topics, such as interstitial lung disease, respiratory disorders in the newborn, congenital lung disease, swine flu, genetic testing for disease and the human genome, inflammatory cytokines in the lung, new radiologic techniques, diagnostic imaging of the respiratory tract, and pulmonary function tests. Learn from the experts with contributions from 100 world authorities in the fields of pediatrics, pulmonology, neurology, microbiology, cardiology, physiology, diagnostic imaging, anesthesiology, otolaryngology, allergy, and surgery. Quickly search the complete contents online and access links to PubMed at www.expertconsult.com. Kendig & Chernick's is the must-have definitive multimedia guide to pediatric lung disease.
Mechanical Ventilation by
One of the key tools in effectively managing critical illness is the use of mechanical ventilator support. This essential text helps you navigate this rapidly evolving technology and understand the latest research and treatment modalities. A deeper understanding of the effects of mechanical ventilation will enable you to optimize patient outcomes while reducing the risk of trauma to the lungs and other organ systems. A physiologically-based approach helps you better understand the impact of mechanical ventilation on cytokine levels, lung physiology, and other organ systems. The latest guidelines and protocols help you minimize trauma to the lungs and reduce patient length of stay. Expert contributors provide the latest knowledge on all aspects of mechanical ventilation, from basic principles and invasive and non-invasive techniques to patient monitoring and controlling costs in the ICU. Comprehensive coverage of advanced biological therapies helps you master cutting-edge techniques involving surfactant therapy, nitric oxide therapy, and cytokine modulators. Detailed discussions of both neonatal and pediatric ventilator support helps you better meet the unique needs of younger patients.
The Newborn Lung: Neonatology Questions and Controversies by
The Newborn Lung, a volume in Dr. Polin's Neonatology: Questions and Controversies Series, offers expert authority on the toughest challenges in neonatal pulmonology and respiratory care. This medical reference book will help you provide better evidence-based care and improve patient outcomes with research on the latest advances. Reconsider how you handle difficult practice issues with coverage that address these topics head on, offering opinions from the leading experts in the field, supported by the best available evidence. Find information quickly and easily with a consistent chapter organization. Get the most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who have the inside track on new trends and developments in neonatal care. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 6-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Stay current in practice with in-depth coverage of presentation, pathogenesis, epidemiology, and prevention of bronchopulmonary dysplasia; short and long-term outcomes of oxygenation strategies in preterm infants; and many other hot topics in neonatal respiratory care. Access the fully searchable text online at www.expertconsult.com.
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology by
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology, Seventh Edition covers all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and altered conditions and environments, from basic science to clinical applications. Includes functional anatomy, mechanics, control of breathing, ventilation, circulation, ventilation-perfusion matching, diffusion, carbon dioxide and oxygen, and non-respiratory functions of the lung. Discusses the effects of pregnancy, exercise, sleep, altitude, pressure, drowning, smoking, anaesthesia, hypocapnia, hypercarbia, hypoxia, hyperoxia, and anaemia on respiratory physiology. Explores specific clinical disorders such as ventilatory failure, airways disease, pulmonary vascular disease, parenchymal lung disease, and acute lung injury, as well as the physiological basis of current therapies, including artificial ventilation, extrapulmonary gas exchange, and lung transplantation. Chapter on Parenchymal Lung Disease has been specifically expanded to include the physiology and pathology of the pleural space and lung cancer. Contains a new chapter on Pulmonary Surgery, covering a wide range of surgical interventions from bronchoscopy to lung resection. Includes almost 500 new references to the literature. The result is an invaluable source for those preparing for examinations in anaesthesia and intensive care, as well as an essential purchase for practitioners who want quick reference to current knowledge.
Pathology of the Lungs by
With an emphasis on practical diagnostic problem solving, Pathology of the Lungs, 3rd Edition provides the pulmonary pathologist and the general surgical pathologist with an accessible, comprehensive guide to the recognition and interpretation of common and rare neoplastic and non-neoplastic lung conditions. The text is written by two authors and covers all topics in a consistent manner without the redundancies or lapses that are common in multi-authored texts. The text is lavishly illustrated with the highest quality illustrations which accurately depict the histologic, immunohistochemical and cytologic findings under consideration and it is supplemented throughout with practical tips and advice from two internationally respected experts. The user-friendly design and format allows rapid access to essential information and the incorporation throughout of relevant clinical and radiographic information makes it a complete diagnostic resource inside the reporting room. Approximately 1,000 high quality full color illustrations.Provides the user with a complete visual guide to each specimen and assists in the recognition and diagnosis of any slide looked at under the microscope. Comprehensive coverage of both common and rare lung diseases and disorders. One stop consultation resource for the reporting room or study, no need to go further to get questions answered. Clinical background and ancillary radiographs incorporated throughout.Provides the user with all of the necessary diagnostic tools to make a complete and accurate pathologic report. Practical advice and tips from two of the world's recognized experts. Provides the trainee and general surgical pathologist with time saving diagnostic clues when dealing with difficult specimens. Consistent and uniform approach incorporated for each disease and disorder (Etiology, pathogenesis, clinical features, pathologic features, differential diagnosis) User-friendly format enables quick and easy navigation to the key information required. Extensive use of summary tables, charts and graphs throughout the text. Helps simplify and clarify complex concepts and facilitates "at a glance" comparisons between entities. Extensive reference list highlights landmark articles as well as including most up-to-date citations. Directs the trainee and practitioner to the most recent and authoritative sources for further reading and investigation With an emphasis on practical diagnostic problem solving, Pathology of the Lungs 3e provides the pulmonary pathologist and the general surgical pathologist with an accessible, comprehensive guide to the recognition and interpretation of common and rare neoplastic and non-neoplastic lung conditions. The text is written by two authors and covers all topics in a consistent manner without the redundancies or lapses that are common in multi-authored texts. The text is lavishly illustrated with the highest quality illustrations which accurately depict the histologic, immunohistochemical and cytologic findings under consideration and it is supplemented throughout with practical tips and advice from two internationally respected experts. The user-friendly design and format allows rapid access to essential information and the incorporation throughout of relevant clinical and radiographic information makes it a complete diagnostic resource inside the reporting room.
Practical Pulmonary Pathology by
With its award-winning, innovative approach, the new edition of Practical Pulmonary Pathology, by Kevin O. Leslie, MD and Mark R. Wick, MD, provides comprehensive, practical guidance in the accurate identification and interpretation of neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lungs. Lavishly illustrated in full color throughout, this "one-stop" resource captures key morphologic patterns for a full range of common and rare conditions and assists in the interpretation of complex diagnostic puzzles. An easily accessible format with a unique "visual index" places in-depth diagnostic guidance quickly at your fingertips-in print or online at www.expertconsult.com. Accurately identify all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lungs with this comprehensive, "one-stop" resource whose last edition was named "Medical Textbook of the Year" by the Royal Society of Medicine/Society of Authors in 2005. Easily Grasp important concepts thanks to a consistent presentation of key information on each disease and disorder: etiology . pathogenesis . clinical features . pathologic features . differential diagnosis. Apply practical advice and tips from world-recognized experts, including many time-saving diagnostic clues for interpreting difficult specimens. Improve the accuracy and completeness of your pathology reports with relevant clinical background information and ancillary radiographs, summary tables, charts, and graphs to simplify reference and to facilitate "at-a-glance" comparison between entities. Use pattern recognition to interpret complex diagnostic puzzles with assistance from key morphologic patterns for a full range of common and rare conditions. Get answers fast! A unique "visual index" directs you to the exact chapters and specific pages you need for in-depth diagnostic guidance. Stay current with a new chapter on pulmonary CT patterns written by two world-renowned thoracic radiologists; the latest lung cancer staging scheme in reference to therapy with biological agents; new concepts in bronchioloalveolar carcinoma diagnosis; an expanded discussion of neoplasms of the lung and pleura, with inclusion of recently-described entities; and many other timely updates. Access the fully searchable text anywhere, anytime at expertconsult.com, along with references, downloadable images, and self-assessment modules at the end of each chapter. The new edition of the award winning Practical Pulmonary Pathology delivers practical, hands-on information to solve even the toughest diagnostic challenges in lung pathology using pattern recognition.
Principles of Pulmonary Medicine by
Principles of Pulmonary Medicine helps you master the foundations of pulmonary medicine without being overwhelmed! This concise, easy-to-read medical reference book correlates basic science principles with the radiologic, pathologic, and clinical aspects of respiratory disease to provide an integrated, accessible approach to the study of pulmonary medicine. Focus on the clinical aspects and treatment of specific pulmonary and respiratory diseases, and understand the anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology relevant to major pulmonary disorders. Apply the material to real-life practice with case-based pulmonology questions covering topics including pulmonary function tests, physiologic data, and results of arterial blood gas testing. Learn the latest diagnostic and therapeutic strategies with updated coverage of diagnostic modalities used in pulmonary disease, as well as management of asthma, lung cancer, respiratory failure, pulmonary hypertension, and other pulmonary diseases. Visually grasp difficult concepts with high-quality images of the lung that complement discussions of specific diseases. Efficiently review critical information in pulmonary medicine by skimming margin notes throughout the text. Practice your knowledge with 200 case-based, self-assessment questions and apply pulmonology principles to real-life practice. Access the complete contents online at Expert Consult, including NEW unique author audio chapter lectures, video clips, questions, additional audio recordings of lung sounds, supplemental images, and more. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Pulmonary Manifestations of Pediatric Diseases by
Pulmonary Manifestations of Pediatric Diseases is the first comprehensive, practical book strictly focused on diagnosing and treating the full spectrum of respiratory complications of non-pulmonary diseases. Pediatric pulmonologists and other expert specialists present their up-to-date and balanced perspectives on new approaches to therapy and recent advances on everything from HIV/AIDS and transplantation to postoperative complications. The contributors are some of the most distinguished and recognizable physicians in their fields giving you the benefit of accumulated insight and experience. You'll have everything you need to perform a complete pulmonary consultation in one handy reference. Details the key "need-to-know" facts for accurate diagnosis and therapy during pulmonary consultations. Provides the latest updates on rapidly-changing topics, including HIV/AIDS, transplantation, and postoperative pulmonary complications. Discusses current clinical controversies to provide perspectives on sensitive topics and offers the authors' preferred approaches whenever relevant. Features balanced coverage on each condition from a pediatric pulmonologist and other expert pediatric specialists.
Pulmonary Pathology by
This volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series packs today's most essential pulmonary pathology into a compact, high-yield format! It covers both common and rare neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lung and pleura and focuses primarily on diagnosis with correlations to clinical and radiographic characteristics. Its pragmatic, well-organized approach, abundant full-color illustrations, and at-a-glance boxes and tables make the information you need easy to access. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice! Detailed discussions on today's technologies help you select the best test for case evaluation. Chapters devoted to the techniques used in the assessment of pulmonary diseases, including immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescnece, and certain clinical laboratory tests offer you a better understanding of techniques and their application for the diagnosis of lung disease. Internationally recognized pathologists convey the most current information, keeping you on the cusp of your field. More than 800 photomicrographs and gross photographs-most in full color-present important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Uses a consistent, user-friendly format, including at-a-glance boxes and tables for easy reference.
Tumors and Tumor-Like Conditions of the Lung and Pleura by
Tumors and Tumor-like Conditions of the Lung and Pleura is a superb visual resource that brings the state-of-the-art in thoracic diagnosis straight to the lab bench. Cesar A. Moran and Saul Suster are internationally recognized experts in pulmonary pathology who present a coherent and consistent approach to interpretation and diagnosis. Through more than 900 stunning photographs and a consistent, user-friendly format, this resource provides quality guidance on the diagnostic problems you face in everyday practice. You'll get a host of innovative, practice-oriented features unavailable in any other text that streamline and facilitate diagnostic decision-making. Written by practitioners for practitioners, this visual resource is designed for quick and easy use. You can't afford to be without it. Features over 900 high-quality full-color illustrations so you can recognize and diagnose any tissue sample under the microscope. Presents immunohistochemical and genetic features wherever relevant for comprehensive information on all of the investigative contexts important to formulating an accurate diagnosis. Includes summary tables throughout the text to simplify and clarify complex discussions and enable "at a glance" comparisons between entities. Provides practical advice from experts on pitfalls in differential diagnosis to help you avoid diagnostic errors.
