This Month's Journal Club Articles:
Previous Journal Club Articles:
Devulapalli S1, Dunlap S1, Wilson N2, Cockburn S2, Kurukumbi M3, Mehrotra P4, Jayam-Trouth A1. Prevalence and clinical correlation of left ventricular systolic dysfunction in african americans with ischemic stroke. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24784011
Hoodbhoy Z1, Mohammed N2, Aslam N1, Fatima U3, Ashiqali S3, Rizvi A1, Pascua C4, Chowdhury D5, Hasan BS1. Is the child at risk? Cardiovascular remodelling in children born to diabetic mothers. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/30940265
Khan SU1, Singh M2, Lone AN1, Khan MS3, Fatima U4, Saad AB5, Riaz H6, Opoku-Asare I4, Kaluski E2. Meta-analysis of long-term outcomes of percutaneous coronary intervention versus medical therapy in stable coronary artery disease. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/30226394
Anderson's Pediatric Cardiology by
As a leading reference on pediatric cardiology and congenital heart disease, Anderson's Pediatric Cardiology provides exhaustive coverage of potential pediatric cardiovascular anomalies, potential sequelae related to these anomalies, comorbidities and neurodevelopmental problems, and current methods for management and treatment. The fully revised 4th Edition addresses significant and ongoing changes in practice, including recent developments in fetal, neonatal, and adult congenital heart conditions as well as expanded content on intensive care, nursing issues, and societal implications. The outstanding illustration program provides superb visual guidance and is now supplemented with a remarkable collection of more than 350 professionally curated imaging and intra-operative surgical videos. Offers authoritative, long-term coverage of a broad spectrum of cardiology conditions ranging from fetal development to age 21, including congenital heart disease, adult congenital heart disease (ACHD), acquired heart disease, cardiomyopathies, and rhythm disturbances. Features exquisite specimen images by Dr. Robert Anderson and Diane Spicer dissected in easily recognizable analogous imaging planes. These are included in the over 850 anatomic, photographic, imaging, and algorithmic figures, and incorporating new images using virtual dissections of 3D datasets obtained in living patients. An extensive new section describing the non-cardiac consequences of congenital cardiac disease and other related issues Outside the Heart, including new chapters on quality improvement in congenital cardiac disease, models of care delivery, neurocognitive assessment and outcomes, psychosocial issues for patients and families, ethics, nursing implications, acute and chronic renal complications, and telemedicine. Three entirely new, expanded sections on the Functionally Univentricular Heart, Fetal Congenital Cardiac Disease, and Heart Failure and Transplantation. Provides a new focus on patient and family-centered care with expert advice on how to communicate difficult diagnoses to patients and families. Features new integration of nursing content into all disease-specific chapters, as well as updated content on genetics, congenital heart disease and follow-up, and new imaging modalities. Contains chapters on new and emerging topics such as MRI and Quantifying the Fetal Circulation in Congenital Cardiac Disease; Congenital Anomalies of the Coronary Arteries; and The Global Burden of Pediatric Heart Disease and Pediatric Cardiac Care in Low- and Middle-Income Countries Shares the experience and knowledge of an international team of multidisciplinary experts in medicine and advanced practice nursing. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, tables and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Braunwald's Heart Disease: a Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine, 2-Volume Set by 
Cardiovascular Physiology by
The best cardiovascular physiology text for USMLE and exam review Cardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition is a concise and enjoyable way for medical students to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. Succinct but thorough, it focuses on the facts and concepts students must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing medical students' ability to evaluate the myriad new information they will be exposed to throughout their career, than Cardiovascular Physiology. *Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states *Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment *Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter *Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives *Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Cardiology, 5th Ed by
A concise, authoritative compilation of the essential knowledge needed to diagnose and manage cardiovascular disease * 37 chapters cover the major disease entities and therapeutic challenges in cardiology today * Chapters on major management issues such as pregnancy and heart disease, the use of anticoagulants in heart disease, and the perioperative evaluation of heart disease patients * Each chapter written by experts in that area, without losing the readability or coherence found in single-author texts * Logically organized into six sections: Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease, Ischemic Heart Disease, Arrhythmias, Valvular Disease, Cardiomyopathy and Heart Failure, and Systemic Disease and the Heart * NEW MATERIAL on the latest hypertension guidelines, new therapies for dyslipidemia management, new oral anticoagulants, and new antiplatelet and antithrombotic drugs * Organized for speed, ease of use, and clinical functionality * An essential quick reference for experienced physicians in the clinic or on the ward, cardiology fellows, students and residents, nurses, technicians, and other health care staff who provide care for the cardiology patient * More than 200 illustrations, including ECGs, imaging studies, drawings, graphs and charts * Emphasis on must know information makes it perfect for board review
Heart Failure: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease by
Up-to-date, authoritative and comprehensive, Heart Failure, 4th Edition, provides the clinically relevant information you need to effectively manage and treat patients with this complex cardiovascular problem. This fully revised companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease helps you make the most of new drug therapies such as angiotensin receptor neprilysin inhibitors (ARNIs), recently improved implantable devices, and innovative patient management strategies. Led by internationally recognized heart failure experts Dr. G. Michael Felker and Dr. Douglas Mann, this outstanding reference gives health care providers the knowledge to improve clinical outcomes in heart failure patients. Focuses on a clinical approach to treating heart failure, resulting from a broad variety of cardiovascular problems. Covers the most recent guidelines and protocols, including significant new updates to ACC, AHA, and HFSA guidelines. Covers key topics such as biomarkers and precision medicine in heart failure and new data on angiotensin receptor neprilysin inhibitors (ARNIs). Contains four new chapters: Natriuretic Peptides in Heart Failure; Amyloidosis as a Cause of Heart Failure; HIV and Heart Failure; and Neuromodulation in Heart Failure. Covers the pathophysiological basis for the development and progression of heart failure. Serves as a definitive resource to prepare for the ABIM's Heart Failure board exam. 2016 British Medical Association Award: First Prize, Cardiology (3rd Edition). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hurst's the Heart, 14th edition by
THE BOOK THAT EVERY CARDIOLOGIST SHOULD OWN -- THE BEST EDITION YET! A Doody's Core Title for 2017! ALL CHAPTERS HAVE BEEN COMPLETELY REWRITTEN MANY NEW EXPERT AUTHORS MOST REFERENCES ARE LESS THAN FIVE YEARS OLD NEW REDRAWN FIGURES REFLECT THE LATEST INFORMATION COVERAGE OF THE MOST RECENT CLINICAL TRIALS, PRACTICE GUIDELINES, AND EVIDENCE-BASED MEDICINE 5 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is an outstanding choice for those who strive for a firm foundation in cardiovascular medicine, as well as an up-to-date and user-friendly source that addresses every discipline in the field. The updates and enhancements to this edition have made the book easier to use."--Doody's Review Service (reviewing previous edition) Cardiology's cornerstone text and your first place to turn for the latest developments that promise better patient care Hailed for its authority, currency, and ability to translate the latest research and advances into real-world clinical application, Hurst's The Heart is the field's landmark text and cardiology's longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet your ever-changing clinical information needs, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics. Within its pages, you will find succinct, visually appealing summaries of all the major new trials and guidelines, along with tips for optimizing outcomes and health quality. The Fourteenth Edition has been completely updated to reflect the latest technical, therapeutic, and clinical advances, while still maintaining a strong focus on quality patient care. HERE'S WHY THIS IS THE BEST EDITION YET: * NEW CHAPTERS include Arrythmogenic Cardiomyopathy; Ischemic Mitral Regurgitation; Degenerative Mitral Valve Disease; Left Ventricular Noncompaction; Evaluation and Management of Acute Heart Failure; Carotid Artery Stenting; and Race, Ethnicity, and Cardiovascular Disease * NEW SECTIONS include Metabolic Disorders and Cardiovascular Disease and Cigarette Smoking and Cardiovascular Disease * More than 1,500 full-color illustrations and 500 tables (many new to this edition) * The wisdom, experience, and authority of approximately 300 expert contributors If you've been searching for a current, comprehensive, and authoritative overview of all major cardiology topics, Hurt's the Heart, Fourteenth Edition belongs on your desk.
Hypertension: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, 3rd Ed by
Effectively manage the chronic problems of your hypertensive patients with the practical clinical tools inside Hypertension, 2nd Edition: A Companion to Braunwald s Heart Disease. This respected cardiology reference covers everything you need to know - from epidemiology and pathophysiology through diagnosis, risk stratification, treatment, outcome studies, concomitant diseases, special populations and special situations, and future treatments.Confidently meet the needs of special populations with chronic hypertensive disease, as well as hypertension and concomitant disease. Learn new methods of aggressive patient management and disease prevention to help ensure minimal risk of further cardiovascular problems. Benefit from the authors Clinical Pearls to reduce complications of hypertension. Use new combination drug therapies and other forms of treatment to their greatest advantage in the management of chronic complications of hypertension. Successfully employ behavior management as a vital part of the treatment plan for hypertensives and pre-hypertensives. "
Multimodal Cardiovascular Imaging by
A complete guide to using multimodal imaging in cardiac practice Interactive DVD includes moving images from the text 2015 Doody's Core Title! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "In addition to compiling the various imaging modalities used for clinical diagnosis in cardiovascular disease, the book also summarizes the present and future applications of combined imaging modalities for better understanding the underlying pathophysiologic basis of cardiovascular diseases....This book is unique in the way it comprehensively reviews both the current and future applications of multiple imaging modalities."--Doody's Review Service Multimodal Cardiovascular Imaging: Principles and Clinical Applications offers a unique "matrix" approach to help you choose the most appropriate combination of imaging modalities for the management of patients with cardiovascular disease. The book discusses the various options available, how they work, the benefits and drawbacks of each, and what modalities will best work in conjunction with each other for a specific condition. Featuring contributions from more than 60 international authors and enriched by 225 half-tone modality images and 130 full-color illustrations, Multimodal Cardiovascular Imaging: Principles and Clinical Applications is divided into three sections: Section 1 contains chapters that focus on the use of ten specific clinically available diagnostic modalities and their broad application to clinical cardiology. Modalities discussed include: Echocardiography Phonocardiography Myocardial Perfusion SPECT and PET Coronary Angiography Cardiac CT Section 2 includes six chapters that present "visions of the future" for combining multiple diagnostic modalities. They form the foundation for understanding the pathophysiologic basis of clinical cardiovascular conditions using prototypes, simulations, models, and tutorials. Section 3 considers several cardiovascular conditions and how multimodal imaging can provide diagnostic and therapeutic decision support to optimize the clinical care for each of them. Some chapters in this section also include case reports of how clinicians/scientists are using multimodal imaging modalities to improve their clinical therapeutic decision support. Conditions include: Congenital Heart Disease Ischemic Heart Disease Acute Myocardial Infarction Aortic Disease Atrial Fibrillation
Textbook of Clinical Echocardiography by
Today's echocardiography continues to be a low-cost, minimal-risk procedure with the potential to yield a vast amount of detailed, precise anatomic and physiologic information. Dr. Catherine Otto's Textbook of Clinical Echocardiography, 6th Edition, clearly outlines how to master the core principles of echocardiographic imaging in order to make an initial diagnosis and integrate this data in clinical decision making for patients with a wide range of cardiovascular diseases. Ideal for cardiology fellows, medicine residents, and cardiac sonography students, this bestselling text teaches all the essential elements of ultrasound physics, tomographic and 3D anatomy, image acquisition, advanced imaging modalities, and application in specific disease categories- all with a practical, problem-based approach. Concentrates on the foundational concepts you need to know to perform and interpret echocardiographic studies and to pass your board exams. Covers all advanced echo techniques, including contrast echo, 3D echo, and myocardial mechanics, as well as intraoperative and intra-procedural transesophageal echocardiography (TEE). Discusses what alternative diagnostic approaches to initiate when echocardiography does not provide a definitive answer. Includes new Echo Math boxes in each chapter for quick review and greater comprehension. Provides new ASE recommendations for chamber quantitation, including updated tables of normal measurements. Matches full-color anatomic drawings of heart structures with the 2D and 3D echocardiographic views. Pairs state-of-the-art echo images with more than 360 videos that illustrate the full range of cardiac disease diagnosed with this powerful imaging approach. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you click on each figure to see the corresponding video, as well as search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Textbook of Interventional Cardiology by
From new research and equipment to new procedures, applications, and approaches, the field of interventional cardiology is one of the fastest-changing areas in medicine. Increasing data and recent technological advances have resulted in exciting changes - and an even greater need for cutting-edge, authoritative guidance on current practice. Textbook of Interventional Cardiology, 8th Edition, covers the theories, trends, and applications of diagnostic and interventional cardiology that cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, vascular surgeons, referring physicians, and advanced practitioners need to know. Focuses on the latest treatment protocols for managing patients at every level of complexity. Includes all-new chapters on Coronary Stenting, Diagnosis and Treatment of Coronary Microvascular Disease, Percutaneous Transcatheter Valve in Valve Implantation, and Percutaneous Tricuspid Valve Repair. Features hundreds of new illustrations, tables, and boxes for visual clarity and quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of transcatheter aortic valve interventions with extensive updates on practice implications. Discusses hot topics such new atherectomy devices, percutaneous mitral valve replacement, and percutaneous treatment of paravalvular leak. Provides the unique insights of expert leaders in the field who have pioneered today's innovative devices and techniques and lend their own analysis of practical, evidence-based clinical applications. Presents the most recent data on how genomics and genetics impact interventional cardiology. Provides an in-depth understanding of cardiology, making it well suited for cardiology and interventional cardiology exam preparation. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Cardiology, Sixth Edition by
A Doody's Core Title for 2023! A concise, authoritative compilation of the essential information needed to diagnose and manage cardiovascular disease Current Diagnosis and Treatment Cardiology, Sixth Edition, covers the latest developments in the field with detailed, consistently structured chapters with sharp clinical images that aid comprehension. Presented in the popular LANGE format, each chapter discusses diagnostic techniques, prevention strategies, treatment, and prognosis. The detailed, uniform structure, and 200+ sharp clinical images, including ECGs, drawings, graphs, and charts aid reader comprehension. This sixth edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect revised guidelines and treatments. NEW content: Cardiac Conduction Disorders and Pacing and Tricuspid and Pulmonic Valve Disease NEW chapters: Cardio-Oncology and Dilated Cardiomyopathy Major revision of Myocarditis chapter covers Covid-19 Essential for board review: Cardiovascular disease is largest part of ABIM internal medicine certification exam NEW devices: Cardiac Conduction Disorders and Pacing and Tricuspid and Pulmonic Valve Disease Medication news: Endocrinology and the Heart, Heart Failure with Reduced Ejection Fraction Percutaneous repair and techniques: Aortic Stenosis, Mitral Regurgitation, and Thoracic Aortic Aneurysms and Dissections, and more
