Current Diagnosis & Treatment Psychiatry, Third Edition by
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will most likely encounter in clinical practice Relevant etiology, phenomenology, pathophysiology, and drug information - right at your fingertips The most effective interviewing techniques and approaches Important evaluation, testing, and decision-making tools and criteria Valuable information on psychiatry and the law, psychological testing, emergency psychiatry, evaluating infants, and more Helpful section on the principles of evaluating and diagnosing patients as well as treatment strategies NEW CHAPTERS on Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder, Opioid Use Disorders, Stimulant Use Disorders, Tobacco Use Disorder, Cannabis Use Disorders, and Gambling and Behavioral Addictions The definitive clinical overview of psychiatric care Designed in the time-saving LANGE CURRENT outline style Covers both adult and pediatric disorders Reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches
Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry: Behavioral Sciences/Clinical Psychiatry by
Synopsis of Psychiatry: Behavorial Sciences/Clinical Psychiatry, 11th Edition is the only authoritative textbook for clinicians, residents, and students covering all psychiatric conditions. It is a complete, concise overview of the entire field of psychiatry, for psychiatrists in training and practice and all others who study and provide mental health care. Its multidisciplinary approach encompasses the biological, psychological and sociological factors at work in health and disease. The latest information about specific diseases, psychopharmacotherapeutic and behavioral treatments and scientific research is incorporated into this revision. ICD (International Classification of Disease, World Health Organization) diagnostic criteria and numerical codes, used for reimbursement purposes, are included. Case studies throughout reinforce the clinical relevance of specific topics. The 11th edition is set apart from any other reference you have: - Contains DSM5 tables on every major psychiatric disorder - Use it to supplement the DSM5, offering current diagnostic and treatment protocols - Over 50 years of compounded knowledge in psychiatric medicine, offered by world-renowned experts
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology 11th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive guide to understanding, diagnosing, and treating neurologic disease - more complete, timely, and essential than ever A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology is truly the classic text in its discipline --- a celebrated volume that guides clinicians to an in-depth understanding of the key aspects of neurologic disease, including both clinical and new scientific data. This meticulously revised and updated text remains the masterwork in its field, and the most readable reference available. Within its pages, you will find a disciplined presentation of clinical data and lucid descriptions of underlying disease processes. Some of the features that have made this resource so renowned: * The most cohesive and consistent approach to clinical management - acclaimed as the most readable book in the literature * A scholarly approach that gives readers a comprehensive overview of every neurologic illness * Unmatched coverage of signs and symptoms * A focus on the full range of therapeutic options available to treat neurologic diseases, including drug therapy and rehabilitation methods * Coverage of the most exciting discoveries and hypotheses of modern neuroscience that bear on and explain neurologic disease * Puts the latest scientific discovery into a larger clinical context * An evenness of style and a uniform approach to subject matter across disciplines that allows a quick and easy review of each topic and condition * A rich, full-color presentation that includes many high-quality illustrations The Eleventh Edition is enhanced by new coverage of : * Interventional therapies for acute ischemic stroke * Novel immunotherapies used to treat inflammatory and neoplastic conditions, and neurotoxicities associated with these drugs * New drugs to treat epilepsy and multiple sclerosis * Update of genetics of inherited metabolic disease * Current understanding of the genetics of primary nervous system malignancies and their bearing on treatment
Behavioral Medicine a Guide for Clinical Practice 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 guide to behavioral issues in medicine delivering thorough, practical discussion of the full scope of the physician-patient relationship "This is an extraordinarily thorough, useful book. It manages to summarize numerous topics, many of which are not a part of a traditional medical curriculum, in concise, relevant chapters."--Doody's Review Service - 5 stars, reviewing an earlier edition The goal of Behavioral Medicine is to help practitioners and students understand the interplay between psychological, physical, social and cultural issues of patients. Within its pages readers will find real-world coverage of behavioral and interactional issues that occur between provider and patient in everyday clinical practice. Readers will learn how to deliver bad news, how to conduct an effective patient interview, how to care for patients at the end of life, how to clinically manage common mental and behavioral issues in medical patients, the principles of medical professionalism, motivating behavior change, and much more. As the leading text on the subject, this trusted classic delivers the most definitive, practical overview of the behavioral, clinical, and social contexts of the physician-patient relationship. The book is case based to reinforce learning through real-world examples, focusing on issues that commonly arise in everyday medical practice and training. One of the significant elements of Behavioral Medicine is the recognition that the wellbeing of physicians and other health professionals is critically important to caring for patients.
Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders by
The definitive treatment textbook in psychiatry, this fifth edition of Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders has been thoroughly restructured to reflect the new DSM-5 categories, preserving its value as a state-of-the-art resource and increasing its utility in the field. The editors have produced a volume that is both comprehensive and concise, meeting the needs of clinicians who prefer a single, user-friendly volume. In the service of brevity, the book focuses on treatment over diagnostic considerations, and addresses both empirically-validated treatments and accumulated clinical wisdom where research is lacking. Noteworthy features include the following: * Content is organized according to DSM-5 categories to make for rapid retrieval of relevant treatment information for the busy clinician.* Outcome studies and expert opinion are presented in an accessible way to help the clinician know what treatment to use for which disorder, and how to tailor the treatment to the patient.* Content is restricted to the major psychiatric conditions seen in clinical practice while leaving out less common conditions and those that have limited outcome research related to the disorder, resulting in a more streamlined and affordable text.* Chapters are meticulously referenced and include dozens of tables, figures, and other illustrative features that enhance comprehension and recall. An authoritative resource for psychiatrists, psychologists, and psychiatric nurses, and an outstanding reference for students in the mental health professions, Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders, Fifth Edition, will prove indispensable to clinicians seeking to provide excellent care while transitioning to a DSM-5 world.
Kaufman's Clinical Neurology for Psychiatrists by
The only reference to focus on the must-know aspects of neurology for psychiatrists, Kaufman's Clinical Neurology for Psychiatrists, 9th Edition, brings you up to date with the knowledge you need to excel on the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and other examinations. It fully covers the exam topics you'll encounter, along with new content, high-quality illustrations, and multiple-choice questions. In addition, this book prepares you for clinical work in the 21st century. Discusses timely, clinically-relevant topics such as chronic and acute traumatic brain injury, Alzheimer's disease, correctible causes of dementia, violence, neurologic illnesses that present with symptoms of autism, illicit drug use, stroke, migraine, Parkinson's disease, tardive dyskinesia current treatments, and more. Includes nearly 2,000 multiple-choice questions both in print and online-all written to help you succeed on the ABPN certifying exam. Features new content, new and improved clinical illustrations: life-like patient sketches, anatomy line drawings, CTs, MRIs, and EEGs. Explains each condition's neurologic and psychiatric features, easily performed office and bedside examinations, appropriate tests, differential diagnosis, and management options. Correlates neurologic illnesses with the DSM-5. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry by
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, first published more than 30 years ago, is a landmark text with a legacy of sound scholarship, expert knowledge, and effective pedagogy. Thoroughly revised and featuring new authors and content, the seventh edition raises the bar, adding age-related, cultural, societal, and population considerations in the practice of psychiatry to the authoritative text that generations of students, residents, and clinicians have heretofore relied upon. The book first focuses on foundational knowledge, with chapters on psychiatric interviewing, diagnostic formulation, developmental assessment, laboratory testing and neuroimaging, and ethical and legal aspects of clinical psychiatry, and then proceeds to a full presentation of psychiatric disorders in alignment with DSM-5. The third section offers an overview of treatment strategies and methods in present-day psychiatry, a combination of evidence-based biological interventions and psychotherapies, and gives a clear sense of exciting new directions in psychiatric therapeutics. The final section of the textbook is focused on the care of special patient populations, including women; children and adolescents; lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals; older adults; and culturally diverse individuals. Many topics are new to this volume, including the following: * Suicide risk assessment, a critically important subject, is addressed in a new chapter that provides the reader with up-to-date knowledge needed to conduct a thorough, attuned, and accurate psychiatric interview in line with best practices.* A new chapter on the social determinants of mental health has been added, reflecting an increased emphasis on populations whose specific concerns have been historically underappreciated in American psychiatry, and illuminating factors that influence mental health needs and barriers to care in specific patient populations.* Precision psychiatry, an integrative approach that pulls together the scientific foundation of the discipline and recent technological advances and directs them toward closing the gap between discovery and clinical translation, is explored in a new chapter.* E-health strategies in mental health have become increasingly available to psychiatrists and other health professionals, especially in the mobile and monitoring spheres. A new chapter offers insights into these intriguing new options for delivering treatment.* A chapter on complementary and integrative therapies explores the integration of conventional medicine with alternative treatments for which there is an evidence base, providing an overview of nutrients, phytomedicines, hormones, mind-body practices, and electromagnetic treatments. With features such as key clinical points and recommended readings for further study, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry is a comprehensive course book, an indispensable reference, and the ultimate resource for clinical care.
Study Guide to Geriatric Psychiatry by
Study Guide to Geriatric Psychiatry is a question-and-answer companion that allows you to evaluate your mastery of the subject matter as you progress through The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, Fifth Edition. The Study Guide is made up of approximately 255 questions divided into 25 individual quizzes of 8-17 questions each that correspond to chapters in the textbook. Questions are followed by an answer guide that references relevant text (including the page numbers) in the textbook to allow quick access to needed information. Each answer is accompanied by a discussion that not only addresses the correct response but also explains why other responses are not correct. The Study Guide's companion, The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, Fifth Edition, has been thoroughly reorganized and updated to reflect new findings, with expanded treatment options and considerations and future directions, such as translational research, enhancing the text's utility while maintaining its reputation as the foremost reference and clinical guide on the subject.
Dulcan's Textbook Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by
Since publication of the first edition, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has become the recognized standard in child and adolescent psychiatry textbooks. In this thoroughly revised second edition, the editor and chapter authors, leaders in the field of child and adolescent mental health, have again provided a complete, state-of-the-art textbook with notable updates and improvements that enhance accessibility and learning. The new edition is more concise and compact, while remaining comprehensive in scope. The number of chapters has been reduced to sharpen the book's focus on topics most relevant to clinical work. The textbook reflects the new DSM-5 classifications that all clinicians and trainees must know to function in today's health care environment. Many other features contribute to the textbook's user-friendly design and broad appeal: * Chapters on the disorders (neurodevelopmental, psychiatric, and those affecting somatic function) have a consistent structure of definition and clinical description, diagnosis, epidemiology, comorbidity, etiology and risk factors, prevention, course and prognosis, evaluation, and treatments, making it easy for readers to locate information and facilitating learning.* The textbook is useful as both a core textbook for child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship training and a reference for a wide variety of health care professionals, including pediatricians, family physicians, general psychiatrists, child neurologists, psychologists, advanced practice nurses, and psychiatric social workers.* The full range of psychosocial treatments is included, focusing on individuals, families, therapeutic milieus, and systemic models of care. The increasing emphasis on taking mental health care beyond the clinician's office is reflected in chapters on consultations related to schools and to primary care. * A section on specialized topics includes chapters on a range of critically important issues, including evidence-based practice, cultural and religious issues, legal and ethical issues, and telehealth.* Each chapter in the book ends with "Summary Points," take-away messages that emphasize the most important concepts and promote consolidation of knowledge.* The section Additional Resources includes selected books for professionals and web sites for professionals, patients, and families, which provide avenues for further study and connections with others treating or living with mental health issues. Reflecting both the art and the science of this fascinating field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Second Edition, provides authoritative, practical guidance and is a resource that mental health practitioners at all levels of experience should have on their desks and handheld devices.
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry by
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry, by Theodore A. Stern, Gregory L. Fricchione, Ned H. Cassem, Michael Jellinek, and Jerrold F. Rosenbaum, is your ideal source of guidance on consultation-liaison psychiatry! Experts from the Massachusetts General Hospital-widely respected as one of the world's premier psychiatric institutions-provide practical advice on the diagnosis and treatment of psychiatric issues experienced by in-hospital, medically ill adults and children. This compact resource reads like a handbook, but delivers all the details you d expect from a textbook.Understand and manage the psychological impact of chronic medical problems, life-threatening diseases, disfigurement, and more. Effectively manage difficult patients, including those with hypochondriacal and conversion disorders.Find information quickly thanks to an improved chapter organization, and get just the answers you need with concise yet complete coverage appropriate for psychiatrists and generalists alike. Implement the most current, effective pharmaceutical therapies as well as cognitive-behavioral approaches."
Massachusetts General Hospital : comprehensive clinical psychiatry by 
Psychiatry by
Concise and focused on high-yield content, this 6th Edition of Blueprints Psychiatry makes it easy for busy clerkship students to prep for shelf exams and the USMLE during moments of calm between busy hospital and clinical responsibilities. Part of the highly regarded Blueprints series, the book mirrors the major concepts and therapeutics of modern psychiatric practice, covering each major diagnostic category, each major class of somatic and psychotherapeutic treatment, legal issues, and special situations unique to the field. Now completely aligned with DSM-5, the Sixth Edition features a new full-color design, new images, and new case vignettes in every chapter. Updated: 100 updated Board-format questions with complete rationales appear in a question-and-answer section at the end of the book. New case vignettes with questions, answers, and full explanations in every chapter provide an ideal way to study. New design: A contemporary, full-color design makes navigation quick and easy. Up-to-date coverage: All diagnoses reflect those included in the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, 5th Edition (DSM-5). Pedagogically rich: Each brief chapter includes bolded key words, tables, figures, and key points to help residents succeed on exams. Complete: A Neural Basis section is included for each major diagnostic category. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry by
Compact and easy to use, Kaplan & Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, Fourth Edition is an authoritative, affordable text that provides must-know information in clinical psychiatry. Containing the most relevant clinical material from the best-selling Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry, Eleventh Edition , it offers step-by-step guidance on the clinical examination, the psychiatric report, medical assessment of the psychiatric patient, laboratory tests, and signs and symptoms, as well as all psychiatric and substance-related disorders, with special chapters on children, adolescents, and the elderly. It also covers special topics such as emergency psychiatry, forensic psychiatry, ethics, and palliative and end-of-life care. Key Features: Provides concise but thorough coverage of the entire field of clinical psychiatry, including biologic, psychologic, and sociologic factors in health and disease. Contains real-world case histories throughout. Includes thorough updates and revisions throughout, all consistent with the DSM-5. Features new and extensively revised coverage of childhood disorders, gender dysphoria, issues affecting LGBT persons, reproductive medicine, physician-assisted suicide, PTSD, the effects of terrorism and torture, and much more. Includes new chapters on public psychiatry and world aspects of psychiatry, as well as a new section on brain stimulation methods. Features a unique, comprehensive glossary of psychiatric signs and symptoms, new to this edition. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Kaplan and Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Clinical Psychiatry by
Completely revised to bring you up to date with current DSM-5 classifications, new medications, and more, Kaplan & Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Clinical Psychiatry, Sixth Edition, is a concise, easy-to-use guide to diagnosing the full range of psychiatric disorders in both adults and children. Brief summaries of psychiatric disorders include key aspects of etiology, epidemiology, clinical features, and suggestions for treatment. It's an ideal ready reference for psychiatrists and other physicians, medical students on psychiatric rotations, psychiatric residents, and mental health professionals in psychology, social work, and nursing. Incorporates Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) into every chapter, ensuring that all diagnoses conform to DSM-5 classifications. Covers all aspects of psychological and pharmacological management. Concludes each chapter with specific page and chapter references to more detailed coverage in Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry, Tenth Edition . Includes boxed, highlighted Clinical Hints for quick reference. Uses an easy-to-scan outline format throughout, making it a perfect source of quick review for busy clinical practitioners, psychiatric residents, or students preparing for exams. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
The Psychiatric Interview by
Now DSM-5 updated! Using a unique and effective combination of mnemonics, practical techniques, and phrasing examples that illustrate the nuances of the interviewing process, The Psychiatric Interview, 4th Edition helps you establish a rapport with patients and gain valuable clinical insights. Now updated to incorporate the DSM-5 and current research, this popular manual teaches you how to improve your interviewing skills, breaking down this complex area into concise information you can put to use immediately in your practice. Key Features: Offers a practical, concise approach to the psychiatric interview, filled with tips and pearls to develop confidence in interviewing. Uses mnemonics and pocket cards to help you understand and remember key elements of the effective interview. Brings you up to speed with the DSM-5 and current research, including changes in diagnosing dementia, substance abuse, eating disorders, ADHD, and more. Provides clear techniques for approaching threatening topics, and shows how relationships that are endangered can be repaired. Presents information in an engaging, conversational manner, helping you form an alliance with each patient in order to promote cooperation and effective treatment. Ideal for psychiatrists, psychiatric residents, nurse practitioners, or other mental health professionals. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
