Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks, very current journals and many more!
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
This database provides subject indexing and the abstracts for 160 dental - oral health journals and dozens of monographs.
The main index of the medical literature.
Always access through the HSL page to get full text of the journal Howard subscribes.
Interdisciplinary citation and abstract database.
The American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons Mobile App
3D Dental A-Z: Anatomy & Beyond
Dental Patient Education Lite
Featured Faculty & ResidentsPublications
1. Posnick JC, Choi E, Chavda A. (2017). Surgical Site Infections Following Bimaxillary Orthognathic, Osseus Genioplasty, and Intranasal Surgery: A Retrospective Cohort Study. J Oral Maxillofac Surg, 75(3), 584-595.
2. Posnick JC, Choi E, Chavda A. (2016). Operative Time, AirwayManagement, Need for Blood Transfusions & In-Hospital Stay for Bimaxillary, Intranasal & Osseous Genioplasty Surgery: Current Clinical Practices. J Oral and Maxillofac Surg. 74(3):590-600.
Atlas of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology by In this book 495 full-color photographs are provided in this vivid visual tour of oral pathology. Three well-known experts examine this subject from a pathological and a surgical perspective. They provide coverage of every important oral lesion or condition. Full-color photographs capture the characteristic appearance of each disorder. Abundant photomicrographs depict pathologic entities at the cellular level and clinical-pathologic correlations promote an in-depth understanding of underlying disease processes.
Clinical Review of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by With cases reflecting the classic presentation format of each disease process, this book prepares students for patient encounters during their oral and maxillofacial surgery rotations. It also helps residents learn and review "high yield" material that is commonly found in oral and maxillofacial training and on board examinations. It highlights clinical information that is commonly asked during rounds, in the operating room, and during examinations. For each case, it includes an overview of the most common clinical presentation, physical exam findings, diagnostic tools, complications, treatment, and a discussion of any controversial issues that may surround the case. The authors describe Clinical Review of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery as "A little reach for the dental student, right on target for the OMS resident, and a strong refresher for OMS board certification." "I found this book expressly informative...I would most definitely recommend this book" Reviewed by British Dental Journal, Dec 2014 Case-based approach incorporates teaching around real patient scenarios to actively engage and raise your interest and retention of the information. 103 cases, many of which are new, represent the full scope of modern oral and maxillofacial surgery practice to encompass the most common and significant implications for modern clinical practice, including content emphasized on OMS boards and training exams. Detailed illustrations including one or more radiographs, full-color clinical photographs, or drawings for the majority of cases provide a visual guide to conditions, techniques, diagnoses, and key concepts that will further enhance your understanding and retention of all content. Content that''s perfect for all levels of study or practice covers both concepts and techniques that residents and pre-doctoral students can apply in the clinical setting, and the preparation tools necessary for oral and maxillofacial surgery boards and training/certification examinations. NEW! Full-color illustrations and photos give you a better pictures of common surgical techniques and pathology. NEW! Chapter 6: Dental Implant Surgery discusses the contemporary issues related to dental implants - specifically the routine placement of maxillary and mandibular implants, sinus augmentation, zygoma implants, treatment of edentulism, guided implant surgery, extraction socket preservation, and implantology for the esthetic zone. NEW! Section on cone beam computed tomography (CBCT) highlights the role of imaging from diagnosis to image guidance for many surgical procedures. NEW! Section on the advantages of computer assisted surgery highlights virtual surgical planning for a patient who presents for combined surgical and orthodontic correction of his facial asymmetry and apertognathia. NEW! Section on trigeminal neuralgia (TN) walks you through the diagnosis and possible treatments for a patient suffering from trigeminal neuralgia, the signs and symptoms that uniquely define the disorder, and the clinician''s ability to recognize the specific diagnostic pattern. NEW! Section on neck dissection, an important aspect of head and neck cancer treatment, provides a case that involves a patient in which right selective neck dissection (I-III) was conducted on the right neck and a selective left neck dissection (I-V) was completed on the left side. NEW! Section on dentoalveolar trauma presents a new case that takes you through diagnosing and treating a patient who presents with anterior maxillary alveolar segment fractures involving teeth #7-9, with lateral luxation and Ellis class III fracture tooth of #9, and an intraoral laceration of the upper lip. NEW! Section on nasal septoplasty addresses a patient with a severely deviated nasal septum to the left, involving the quadrangular cartilage and the bony septum and how septoplasty can make a dramatic change in the patient''s quality of life, by facilitating nasal airflow, allowing for better spontaneous drainage of the paranasal sinuses, possibly reducing mouth breathing, and reducing or eliminating the symptoms of snoring, and perhaps lessening the severity of the obstructive sleep apnea syndrome.
Publication Date: 2013-11-19
Color Atlas of Dental Implant Surgery by Use this atlas-style guide to master implant procedures and techniques! Written by leading expert Michael S. Block, DMD, Color Atlas of Dental Implant Surgery, 3rd Edition provides clear, full-color clinical photos and practical instructions covering a wide range of implant challenges. It takes you through treatment planning, presurgical guidelines, detailed surgical techniques, and postoperative follow-up. This edition adds more case studies, coverage of computed tomography, and a new DVD with videos of 14 surgical procedures filmed by the author. With this book, you'll be able to address any implant-related situation and achieve optimal results! Over 1,500 full-color photographs and drawings depict important concepts and techniques, and show treatment from beginning to end. Clear step-by-step procedures include indications, contraindications, and treatment results for each procedure. Case studies throughout the book explore realistic clinical scenarios, each with a variant. Chapters are organized by oral anatomy and surgical technique, with each chapter presenting a different area of the mouth or a specific surgical technique. NEW! Thoroughly revised and updated content reflects the latest information and advancements in dental implant surgery. NEW! 60+ video clips on a companion website clearly demonstrate the nuances and techniques of implant procedures that can't be seen in still photos. NEW! Information on the placement of implants into single tooth sites with tooth removal looks at three clinical scenarios that can help you decide on the best timing of treatment. NEW! Coverage of the placement of implants immediately into mandibular molar sites addresses criteria for immediate placement, implant selection, and surgical technique. NEW! Exploration of grafting the thin maxilla, with an accompanying case study, looks at how to best handle patients who present with a thin, narrow alveolar bone, which does not allow implant placement. NEW! Section on the use of interpositional osteotomy to restore missing vertical bone in the esthetic zone discusses how to manage vertical bone deficiency in the esthetic zone by moving the vertical bone inferiorly using an interpositional osteotomy. NEW! Section on the crestal approach for sinus elevation addresses implant site preparation and surgical technique.
Publication Date: 2014-07-11
Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by One of the most respected dental surgery books in the world, Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 7th Edition helps you develop skills in evaluation, diagnosis, and patient management. This comprehensive text on oral surgery procedures features full-color photographs and drawings that show how to perform basic surgical techniques, including an overview of more advanced surgical procedures and the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology. A detailed patient evaluation section includes guidelines on when to refer patients to specialists and how to provide supportive postoperative care. New to this edition is a chapter focusing on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions. Written by well-known OMS educators James R. Hupp, and Edward Ellis III, and Myron R. Tucker, this book is a valuable reference for dentistry and dental hygiene students alike! UPDATED! Chapter, Contemporary Implant Dentistry, includes new and updated implant surgical techniques and virtual planning. UPDATED! Chapter, Treatment of Complex Implant Cases, features new and updated cases requiring more complex treatment, including bone augmentation surgery in combination with implants. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Sinus Disease updated outline of the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient with sinus disease, including endoscopic therapy. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Medication-related Osteonecrosis of the Jaw outlines the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient. UPDATED! Facial Cosmetic Surgery chapter is organized by nonsurgical and surgical procedures, covering popular procedures such as dermal fillers, botox, facial resurfacing, browlift and forehead procedures, blepharoplasty, rhinoplasty, and rhytidectomy. UPDATED! Content on implants, new instruments, and the latest technology help you treat your patients more effectively. Basic techniques of evaluation, diagnosis, and medical management described in enough detail to facilitate immediate clinical application. Excellent instrumentation chapter covers a wide variety of instruments and tray set-ups that OMS surgeons use. Complex Exodontia chapter describes techniques for surgical tooth extraction, including the principles of flap design, development, management, and suturing, as well as open extraction of single- and multi-rooted teeth, multiple extractions, and concomitant alveoloplasty. Hundreds of detailed, close-up photographs of intraoperative sites clarify textual descriptions Coverage of complex OMS procedures give you a basic understanding of what you will face later in advanced OMS cases. NEW! Chapter, Anesthesia in Dentistry focuses on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions including local anesthesia and nitrous oxide sedation. NEW! Expert Consult TM eBook version included with purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug guide! Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 12th Edition profiles the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, with emphasis on dental-specific considerations. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find information such as dosages, indications, contraindications, interactions, precautions, side effects, and serious reactions. Online resources include over 100 additional drug monographs, photos of common oral complications, patient education guides, and more. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author in dental pharmacology, this pocket-sized reference provides the current, concise drug information you need at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known only by their brand names. Primers in the front of the guide include information on biologic agents, medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw, and a list of online resources for the management of medically compromised patients along with management of common oral lesions. Evolve companion website includes more than 100 additional monographs, photos of common oral complications, patient education guides, information on herbs and alternative medicine, and more. NEW! More than 50 new monographs include newly released, FDA-approved drugs and up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry by A concise and visual guide to clinically relevant anatomy for dentistry, Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry is an effective text for class and exam preparation, as well as a quick review in professional practice. Concise text, high-yield tables, clinical correlations, and review questions combine to make this new edition a perfect choice for learning and remembering the need-to-know structures, relationships, and concepts, while beautiful illustrations created in the Netter tradition enhance your visual mastery of the material. You may also be interested in: A companion set of flash cards, Netter's Advanced Head & Neck Anatomy Flash Cards, 3rd Edition. Over 100 multiple-choice questions complete with explanations help you assess your knowledge of the material and prepare for exams. Identify clinically relevant anatomy with Netter illustrations and new art created in the Netter tradition. Concise text and high-yield tables offer fast access to important facts. Procedures coverage gives context and clinical meaning to the anatomy. Expanded, up-to-date coverage on dental implants, cone beam imaging, and mandible osteology. Beautiful new illustrations by Carlos Machado, MD, of the TMJ, articular disc pathology, infratemporal fossa, pterygopalatine fossa, and maxillary artery. Interactive eBook included with print purchase, which includes access to the full text, interactive images, case studies, additional assessment questions, video clips from cone beam CTs, and a rotatable 3D skull.
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by Stay on top of the latest advances, treatments, and best practices with the new third edition of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. This trusted, three-volume resource covers the full scope of the field with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of surgical procedures performed today - including cleft and craniofacial surgeries, oral surgery, oncologic surgery, orthognathic surgery, trauma surgery, surgical pathology, surgery of TMJ disorders, dental implants, dentoalveolar surgery, cosmetic surgery, and reconstructive surgery. More than 4,800 full-color images and illustrations serve as valuable visual references. You'll also find complete guidelines for a wide range of practice issues such as anesthesia, diagnostic imaging, treatment planning, , psychological considerations, office design and ergonomics, plus new information on implants and orthognathic surgery. It's all the information you need to perfect your oral and maxillofacial surgical techniques and provide state-of-the-art care for your patients. NEW! Full color design provides a more vivid depiction of pathologies, concepts, and procedures. NEW! Expert Consult website includes all of the chapters from the print text plus "classic" online-only chapters and an expanded image collection, references linked to PubMed, and periodic content updates. NEW! Thoroughly revised and reorganized content reflects current information and advances in OMS. NEW! New chapters on implants and orthognathic surgery cover the two areas where oral and maxillofacial surgeons have been expanding their practice. NEW! Digital formats are offered in addition to the traditional print text and provide on-the-go access via mobile tablets and smart phones.
Publication Date: 2017-05-11