Ophthalmology Guide: Basic and Clinical Science Course Books and Materials

Serves as an ideal complement to your medical student curriculum and a helpful tool for primary care residents and physicians who want to broaden their knowledge of eye disease diagnosis and treatment. The tenth edition includes updated, practical information on the diagnosis, management and referral of common ocular disorders, and summarises important ophthalmic concepts and techniques. It includes coverage of eye examinations, acute and chronic vision loss, red eye, ocular and orbital injuries, amblyopia and strabismus, neuro-ophthalmology, ocular manifestations of systemic diseases and drugs and the eye. This edition includes a new chapter on eyelid, orbital, and lacrimal disease. It also features 140 figures, access to 17 video clips, key points to remember, sample problems to test knowledge, and annotated resources.

Increase the quality of care provided to your patients by offering comprehensive, up-to-date training to your staff. Ophthalmic Medical Assisting is a self-study program for beginning ophthalmic assistants that blends fundamental medical and scientific information and essential practical skills. The new, sixth edition incorporates a greater emphasis on office responsibility and patient interaction; ensuring patients are offered the best possible care from the moment they walk in your door. The fully illustrated textbook describes 44 procedures step-by-step and covers all topics in both the United States and international curricula. The print version includes QR codes within the text that can be easily scanned to access and 12 interactive anatomical models of the eye and 20 videos that demonstrate clinical techniques, creating an active learning process. Each chapter has self-assessment questions and suggested activities to reinforce the preceding lessons. The course consists of a textbook, available in print or eBook, and an online examination. Successful completion of the course serves as a prerequisite for the Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA) examination administered by the Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO). The eBook, which includes the full text and images from the print version, can be read using most smartphones, tablets and computers. Videos and interactive anatomical models are integrated into the text. The comprehensive online exam will test technicians newly-acquired knowledge at the conclusion of the course, offering immediate scoring. Those who pass the exam with a score of 80 per cent or higher instantly receive a letter of successful completion. Those who do not pass are given a second exam attempt for free.