Search millions of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
OPEN ACCESS THESES & DISSERTATIONS
Theses and dissertations, free to find, free to use.
ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world.
Search in its ProQuest ™ Dissertations & Theses Citation Index.
In this video, Nick Shockey and Jonathan Eisen explain what open access publishing is all about.
In this video, Dr. Singh provides you with 3 key differences in open access vs traditional academic journals, and the pros and cons of publishing an article in one.
In this video, Dr. Deborah Clegg provides information regarding differences in where you publish your manuscript, visibility & impact, cost, counts toward faculty scholarship, open access journals and publications, best practices, common misconceptions, and pitfalls to avoid as you publish.
All presenters in the videos refer to a common rationale of "Why do the research if no one can gain access to the data?" This is probably due to the inability of many to purchase the articles. Some Open Access Publishers may charge a publishing fee, but the article content is made free to whomever wants the data from it and from a free download of it.
AUTHORING OPEN TEXTBOOKS (2017)
Written and compiled by Melissa Falldin and Karen Lauritsen
"This guide is for faculty authors, librarians, project managers and others who are involved in the production of open textbooks in higher education and K-12. Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools."
"The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."
"Provided by the OAPEN library and publication platform, the Open Access Books Toolkit covers specific topics related to open access books. Each article offers a quick and brief introduction to a particular aspect of open access book publishing."
CUREUS - JOURNAL OF MEDICAL SCIENCE
Free to low-cost Journal to publish in.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS BOOKS (DOAB)
"DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers."
"PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication."
"We’ve been breaking boundaries since 2001. We propelled the movement for OA alternatives to subscription journals. We established the first multi-disciplinary publication inclusive of all research regardless of novelty or impact. And we demonstrated the importance of open data availability."
"Here at Sage, we are seeking to make it as simple and straightforward as possible for you to find a route to publishing Open Access with our Open Access options."
"The SpringerOpen portfolio has grown tremendously since its launch in 2010, so that we now offer researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals. Publishing with SpringerOpen makes your work freely available online for everyone, immediately upon publication, and our high-level peer-review and production processes guarantee the quality and reliability of the work. Open access books are published by our Springer imprint."
