Introduction to Public Health by
Includes newly updated bonus e-chapter on Learning from the COVID-19 Pandemic.Offering a thorough, accessible and lively overview of public heath for students new to the field, Introduction to Public Health offers a broad-reaching, practical framework for understanding the forces and organizations of public health today. Through engaging, nontechnical language, illustrative real world examples, and the current political, economic, and cultural news of the day, students gain a clear understanding of the scope of today's public health problems and possible solutions. Maintaining the same organization, scope, and engaging writing style that has inspired countless students about public health, the thoroughly updated Sixth Editon offers:- Coverage of pressing issues in public health, including: the opioid crisis; e-cigarettes and vaping; West Nile, Zika and other emerging viruses; impact of recent marajuana laws and drugged driving; the resurgence of measles and anti-vaccination sentiment; the Flint water crisis; and much more.- Updated statistics and information in every chapter to illustrate the current state of public health.- The latest on the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and the current state of health insurance in the United States.- Coverage throughout illustrating the influence of politics on public health policy today- Navigate Advantage Access (included with each print text) includes a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics, reporting tools and more.- Bonus COVID-19 e-Chapter - updated in summer 2021 - ensures students have an up-to-date overview of COVID-19 - from a brief history of crowd-epidemic diseases and the origins of SARS-CoV2 to morbidity and mortality; transmission; cross-country differences in public health responses; and more.
Encyclopedia of Public Health [2 Volumes] by
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues.The concepts of public health and the methods we use to care for and promote the health of people in communities, groups, and our nation as a whole are of interest to all health professionals. Comprising contributions from historians, scholars, researchers, sociologists, and other public health professionals, the Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs offers a firsthand, in-depth view of public health as it applies to everyday life and practice. The encyclopedia contains a wealth of information on critical theories, people, and movements and shows how various disciplines can work together to create healthy communities and practices for many people. As a secondary objective, the book encourages future generations to actively participate in public health. This reference covers the defining moments in the development of public health, from ancient times to the modern day, and offers entries with historical information and examinations of current controversies as they relate to recurring social conflicts. The entries provide a breadth and depth of content that is accessible to a wide readership. Readers will understand the benefits of physical activity and good nutrition as well as the psychology behind the choices that we make and how early life and social experiences can influence behaviors even decades after the event. The wide variety of topics covered includes the life expectancy of Americans at birth, the Tuskegee syphilis study, and marijuana use, and will give readers an informed perspective on past public health successes and likely directions for the future.
Transforming Public Health Practice by
This text provides students a foundation in public health practice and management, focusing on developing the knowledge and skills required by the real world of public health. The authors of Transforming Public Health Practice explain the drivers of change in public health practice, key success factors for public health programs, dealing with the chronic disease burden, the impact of national health policy on public health practice, and tools for understanding and managing population health. Transforming Public Health Practice covers core leadership and management skills, covering areas such as politics, workforce, partnership and collaboration, change management, outcomes orientation, opportunities for improvement, health equity, and future challenges. Case studies highlight innovations in health education, working with people with disabilities, partnerships in response to disease outbreaks, and health programs. Learning objectives, chapter summaries, key terms, and discussion questions enhance each chapter. A downloadable instructors' supplement is available on the companion Web site for the book.
Handbook for Public Health Social Work by
Public health social work is an interdisciplinary, epidemiologically oriented approach to improving human health and well-being. About one quarter of all social workers in the United States currently work in medical or public health settings, a number that is expected to increase significantly in coming years. This handbook, written and edited by respected leaders of the Social Work Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA), describes the rapidly expanding roles of public health social workers as these two disciplines continue to join forces. The handbook describes how the alliance of social work and public health has already made significant progress and ways in which it will further improve health care in the United States. It addresses job opportunities for public health social workers in such fields as disease prevention, health promotion, child welfare, gerontology, disaster response, trauma intervention, substance abuse, outreach services, and advocacy. It also covers public health social work with special populations and in neighborhood, rural, and global settings. Key Features: Authored by highly respected APHA Social Work members Describes the ways in which the alliance of social work and public health is improving health care Highlights key settings and job opportunities for public health social workers Addresses public health social work with special populations and its relationship to such medical topics as chronic conditions, HIV/AIDS, disabilities, and more
Transdisciplinary Public Health by
"This book makes a great leap in the conceptualization of transdisciplinary approaches, as well as provides concrete examples in practice, teaching, policy, and research." --From the Foreword by Edward F. Lawlor, dean and the William E. Gordon Distinguished Professor, the Brown School; and founding director, Institute for Public Health at Washington University in St. Louis The complexity of public health and social problems is becoming more challenging. Understanding and designing solutions for these problems requires perspectives from multiple disciplines and fields as well as cross-disciplinary research and practice teams. Transdisciplinary Public Health fills a void in the literature and offers a comprehensive text that introduces transdisciplinary methods as a means for providing an innovative tool set for problem-solving in public health research and practice. With contributions from leading experts, Transdisciplinary Public Health offers an understanding of interactions among the biological, behavioral, social, and public health sciences; shared disciplinary frameworks in analyzing health problems; and the integration and evaluation of transdisciplinary solutions to alleviate complex public health issues. Use of this important resource will promote transdisciplinary research and practice, resulting in novel solutions that positively impact human health.
Race, Ethnicity, and Health by
Race, Ethnicity and Health, Second Edition, is a critical selection of hallmark articles that address health disparities in America. It effectively documents the need for equal treatment and equal health status for minorities. Intended as a resource for faculty and students in public health as well as the social sciences, it will be also be valuable to public health administrators and frontline staff who serve diverse racial and ethnic populations. The book brings together the best peer reviewed research literature from the leading scholars and faculty in this growing field, providing a historical and political context for the study of health, race, and ethnicity, with key findings on disparities in access, use, and quality. This volume also examines the role of health care providers in health disparities and discusses the issue of matching patients and doctors by race. New chapters cover: reflections on demographic changes in the US based on the current census; metrics and nomenclature for disparities; theories of genetic basis for disparities; the built environment; residential segregation; environmental health; occupational health; health disparities in integrated communities; Latino health; Asian populations; stress and health; physician/patient relationships; hospital treatment of minorities; the slavery hypertension hypothesis; geographic disparities; and intervention design.
The Public Health Crisis Survival Guide by
Firefighters are taught to battle flames. Police learn to respond quickly to 911 calls. So why are so few health officials prepared for public health crises? The Public Health Crisis Survival Guide is here to help. Whether it's an infectious disease outbreak, a scathing news report, or a sudden budget calamity, this book gives public health readers an honest and practical overview of what to do when things go wrong - not just to survive, but to lead and thrive in the most difficult circumstances.With examples drawn from history, recent headlines, and the author's own experience at the local, state, and federal levels, this book covers: * how to recognize, manage, and communicate in a crisis * how to pivot from managing a crisis to advocating for long-term policy change that can prevent the crisis from happening again * how to awaken a sense of crisis on a longstanding problem to generate momentum for change* taboo topics, including whether and how to apologize for mistakes Written by a voice of experience, practicality, and good humor, The Public Health Crisis Survival Guide will be a source of enrichment and reassurance for the next generation of public health students and practitioners.
Public Health Law by
Lawrence O. Gostin's seminal Public Health Law is widely acclaimed as the definitive statement on public health law at the turn of the twenty-first century. In this bold third edition, Gostin is joined by Lindsay F. Wiley to analyze major health threats of our time such as chronic diseases, emerging infectious diseases, antimicrobial resistance, bioterrorism, natural disasters, opiod overdose, and gun violence. The authors draw on constitutional law, administrative law, local government law, and tort law to develop their conception of law as a tool for protecting the public's health. The book creates an intellectual framework for modern public health law and supports that framework with illustrations of the scientific, political, and ethical issues involved. In proposing innovative solutions for the future of the public's health, Gostin and Wiley's essential study provides a blueprint for public and political debates to come. New issues covered in this edition: * Corporate personhood rights raised in response to regulations of tobacco, food and beverages, alcohol, firearms, prescription drugs, and marijuana. * Local government authority to protect the public's health. * Deregulation and harm reduction as modes of public health law intervention. * Taxation, spending, and alteration of the socioeconomic environment as modes of public health law intervention. * Access to health care as a strategy for protecting the public's health. * Taxation, spending, licensing, zoning, and shared-use strategies for chronic disease prevention. * The public health law perspective on violence and injury prevention. * Health justice as a framework for reducing health disparities and protecting the public's health.
Qualitative Methods in Public Health by
Qualitative Methods in Public Health: A Field Guide for Applied Research, 2nd Edition provides a practical orientation to conducting effective qualitative research in the public health sphere. With thorough examination and simple explanations, this book guides you through the logic and workflow of qualitative approaches, with step-by-step guidance on every phase of the research. Students learn how to identify and make use of theoretical frameworks to guide your study, design the study to answer specific questions, and achieve their research goals. Data collection, analysis, and interpretation are given close attention as the backbone of a successful study, and expert insight on reporting and dissemination helps you get your work noticed. This second edition features new examples from global health, including case studies specifically illustrating study design, web and mobile technologies, mixed methods, and new innovations in information dissemination. Pedagogical tools have been added to help enhance your understanding of research design and implementation, and extensive appendices show you how these concepts work in practice. Qualitative research is a powerful tool for public health, but it's very easy to get it wrong. Careful study design and data management are critical, and it's important to resist drawing conclusions that the data cannot support. This book shows you how to conduct high-quality qualitative research that stands up to review.
Bringing Public Health into Urban Revitalization by
A particularly valuable opportunity to improve public health arises when an urban area is being redesigned and rebuilt following some type of serious disruption, whether it is caused by a sudden physical event, such as a hurricane or earthquake, or steady economic and social decline that may have occurred over decades. On November 10, 2014, the Institute of Medicine's Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine held a workshop concerning the ways in which the urban environment, conceived broadly from factors such as air quality and walkability to factors such as access to fresh foods and social support systems, can affect health. Participants explored the various opportunities to reimagine the built environment in a city and to increase the role of health promotion and protection during the process of urban revitalization. Bringing Public Health into Urban Revitalization summarizes the presentations and discussions from this workshop.
