Skip to main content
LSHSL Home HUHS HU Home Image Map

Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library: Databases

Databases

On  your request, now available - Journal of the American Pharmacists Association   from 1940 to present, in the ScienceDirect database.  The journal has changed names multiple times in its history. The different names are not consolidated into one page, so please choose from the following links:
Journal of the American Pharmacists Association: 2003, vol. 43 – present     
Journal of the American Pharmaceutical Association:  1996, vol. 36 --2003, vol. 43 
American Pharmacy:  1978, vol. 18  to 1995, vol. 35
Journal of the American Pharmaceutical Association: 1961, vol. 1 – 2001, vol. 41
Journal of the American Pharmaceutical Association: 1940, vol.1 - 1960, vol.21.

 

 

JAMA Cardiology and JAMA Oncology  have been added to our collection

NBDHE Dental Hygiene

For students: How to register and use

Faculty members : please contact Jim Atkins at BoardVitals to register for the faculty type of access.

 

 

  Surgery : A case based clinical review,
by C. de Virgilio.
Available online for unlimited number of concurrent users.
     

 

 

Academic Search Premier   EBSCOhost
Access to materials that spans virtually every area of academic study.

Access Medicine
Access to McGraw-Hill medical textbooks, videos, and self-assessment.

Access Pharmacy
Access to McGraw-Hill pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, and Q&A.

Access Physiotherapy
Access to McGraw-Hill physical therapy textbooks, videos, and self-assessment.

Access Surgery
Access to McGraw-Hill surgical textbooks, videos, and self-assessment.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ
Various types of publications on treatments and healthcare management.

Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED)
Covers (1985-present) a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and professions allied to medicine, produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.

American College of Physicians (ACP) Journal Club
Access to 500 evidence-based clinical disease, diagnosis, and treatment recommendations for a wide variety of common conditions for point of care, clinical education, and practice.

American Pharmacists Association's Pharmacy Library (PharmacyLibrary)
Features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX® review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.

BioMed Central
This portfolio of 278 peer-reviewed open access journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Retrovirology, and BMC Genomics.

BoardVitals  

Board exam review tool for
AANP Family Nurse Practitioner and ANCC Family Nurse Practitioner  How to register and use
NBDHE Dental Hygiene.                                                                                     How to register and use

Faculty members: please contact Jim Atkins at BoardVitals to register for the faculty type of access.

 

Books@Ovid
Full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.

 

Browzine
Browse, read and monitor key journals in your field through HU libraries. With the Browzine App you can create a bookshelf of your favorite journals for easy and fast access.

 

CardioSource Plus
Online cardiovascular information and educational resource including clinical images, self-assessment educational materials, Heart Songs, ACC clinical guidelines and quality standards, and news and expert commentaries. (full text of the JACC is available at ClinicalKey)

ChemID Plus
A dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures) includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text  (EBSCO)
World's largest collection of  Nurse and Allied Health Literature  - full-text journal articles, abstracts, full text evidence-based care sheets, images, and more.

Clinical Collection  (EBSCO)
EBSCO's eBook Clinical Collection offers nearly 2,000 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.

ClinicalKey (Elsevier)
Contains over 1,000 ebooks, 600+ full-text journals, thousands of procedural videos, images, patient education materials, First Consult point-of-care reviews,drug monographs, and more.
*ClinicalKey cannot be accessed remotely using the HU Secure Access SSL VPN. Logout of the HU VPN, then access ClinicalKey from the LSHSL Databases page, use your HU Library ID to sign-in.

Clinical Pharmacology
A comprehensive drug reference and information solution.

ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Cochrane Library  OVID
The Cochrane Library consists of the following databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methodology Register).

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source DOSS  (EBSCOhost)
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS) includes more than 255 full-text journals and cited references for nearly 125 journals, with links to the complete text of many of the original works.

Diabetes Research - CDC
CDC's Division of Diabetes Translation translates diabetes research into daily practice to understand the impact of the disease, influence health outcomes, and improve access to quality health care.

Diagnosaurus in  Access Medicine
Allows you to search 1,000+ differential diagnoses by: Symptoms, Diseases, Organ System.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

DynaMed Plus*
Point-of-care resource - contains reviews, calculators, ICD-9 / ICD-10 codes, references to guidelines. Free mobile app.
*DynaMed Plus cannot be accessed using the HU Secure Access SSL VPN. Logout of the HU VPN, then access DynaMed Plus from the LSHSL Database webpage, use your HU Library ID to sign-in OR sign up for remote access (use the link at the top the DynaMed main page) on a HU computer.
 

Evidence-based Medicine Reviews  in OVID
Simultaneous search of the seven EBM reviews databases: ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Health Technology Assessment, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, National Health Service Economic Evaluation, Cochrane Methodology Register.

Ebrary /ProQuest Ebook Central  
Full-text e-books on medicine, nursing and allied health, psychology and social work, and other subjects .

Exam Master Online*
Large selection of self-study resources for medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, and physician assistant. *To use this site you must login in with your Exam Master Online credentials. First-time users can register an account on this site.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
An international organization with a mission of addressing multiple issues involving food production, food accessibility and a host of other prevalent issues around the world.

5 Minute Clinical Consult
Access to the information needed at the point of care. It is the fastest resource to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases.
 

Hazardous Substances Data Bank HSDB (NIH)
A toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas.

Haz-Map  (NIH)
An occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases.

HCUPnet
A free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

Health Technology Assessment  in OVID
Brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions). HTA is produced in collaboration with the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden.

Howard University eJournal Portal
Journals by subjects.

Howard University Libraries Search
Search HUL resources.
 

Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

JAMA Network   
Peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of the biomedical sciences. The Network provides access to the Archives of Dermatology, Archives of Facial Plastic Surgery, Archives of General Psychiatry, Archives of Internal Medicine, and Archives of Neurology.
 

LWW Health Library - Premium Pharmacy Collection
This collection contains 30 pharmacy eBooks. This database also contains video, audio, self-assessments, cases, clinical skills, and other resources that cater to intensive pharmacy information needs.

LWW Total Access  OVID
Books, journals, EBM Reviews.


MedlinePlus
National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families - patient-education type of information on treatments, conditions, drugs and supplements. Text and videos, including videos on surgical procedures.

National Guideline Clearinghouse   AHRQ /U.S.Dept. of Health and Human Services
Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

National Nutrition Database - USDA
Find nutrient information on over 8,000 foods. Search by food item, group, or list to find the nutrient information for your food items.

National Rehabilitation Information Center
Library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR).

NCBI Bookshelf
Provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

National Cancer Institute publications
The NCI collects and disseminates information on cancer detection, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, control, palliative care, and survivorship.

New England Journal of Medicine
Published by the Massachusetts Medical Society. It is among the most prestigious peer-reviewed medical journals as well as the oldest continuously published one.

NEJM Resident 360
Gives information needed for rotations and connects you with a community of fellow residents and clinical experts.


NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Contains bibliographical information and appraisals of economic evaluations in which costs as well as outcomes of treatment and care alternatives in health care are compared.

NIH RePORTER
Comprehensive funding information for NIH grants and contracts. The information found in RePORTER is drawn from several extant databases–eRA databases, Medline, PubMed Central, the NIH Intramural Database, and iEdison.
 

OTSeeker
Contains abstracts of thousands of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. It is designed to help occupational therapists use research evidence about occupational therapy interventions to inform their practice by quickly locating it.

Ovid
Several databases, including Books@Ovid, Full Text Journals@Ovid, Allied and Complimentary Medicine, EBM Reviews (ACP Journal Club, Cochrane reviews, etc.)

Ovid Medline
Search Medline using Ovid search engine and tools. 
 

PEDro
Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 31,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

PharmacyLibrary
Features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX® review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
To have access to Instructor View, please create and activate your personal account (ask librarians for details.)

Pivot
Searchable database to give you access to funding sources in the billions of dollars, including private, public, philanthropic, corporate, and international sources.

PLOS Medicine
The leading open-access medical journal for outstanding research and commentary on the major challenges to human health worldwide. They publish articles relevant to clinicians and policymakers across a range of settings that adhere to the highest standards of methodology, ethics and reporting and address the major biological, environmental, social, and political determinants of health.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses (full text and citations.)

PsycARTICLES EBSCOhost
Full-text articles from the journals published by the American Psychological Association.

PsychiatryOnline
A web-based portal that features DSM-5, The American Journal of Psychiatry, and a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing.

PubMed
The world's most comprehensive database of article abstracts from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, from 700+ publishers.  Contains links to full-text articles available to Howard U - click the icon     in Abstract view to access full text.

PubMed for Handhelds (Conduct a PICO search here)
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

R2 Digital Library
Searchable medical, nursing and allied health books from key health science publishers.

RefWorks
An online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. Sign up for an account using a device/computer connected to the HU network.

Rehabilitation Measures Database
Helps clinicians and researchers identify reliable and valid instruments used to assess patient outcomes during all phases of rehabilitation. This database provides evidence-based summaries that include concise descriptions of each instrument’s psychometric properties, instructions for administering and scoring each assessment as well as a representative bibliography with citations linked to PubMed abstracts.

Rehabilitation Reference Center with SPORTDiscus
An evidence-based, point-of-care resource for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists, and sports medicine professionals. Updated daily with the most current information available about sports medicine and rehabilitation, using a strict evidence-based methodology and protocol focused on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of practice-changing information.

RxList
An online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Data provided by sources like the FDA, Cerner Multum, and First Data Bank, Inc.
 

Sage Premier eJournal Collection   temporary unavailable
Full text articles in the  peer-reviewed journals published mostly by Sage, includes research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies.

Sage Research Methods
Online research tool designed to help researchers and provide information and instruction on research methods in the social sciences.

Science
AAAS journals: Science, Science Signaling, Science Translational Medicine, and Science Advances - fulltext. 

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.

ScienceDirect 
Abstracts and fulltext (look for green and orange icons) of the journals, mainly by Elsevier.

SciFinder*
Online version of Chemical Abstracts. Includes journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature in one source.
*To access SciFinder, all users must register and create an account using a valid HU email domain at SciFinder Registration.

Scopus
Interdisciplinary citation and abstract database, includes conference proceedings. Conduct your search using keyword(s), see the tools on the left to refine the search (limit to year, author's name, subject, document type...)

SPORTDiscus  EBSCOhost
Sports and sports medicine journals - abstracts and fulltext. A resource for sports and athletic trainers, exercise and fitness instructors, nutritionists, occupational therapists, and health educators.

SpringerLink
Scientific documents, including books, journals, reference works, protocols, and databases.

Statistical Insight  ProQuest
Find answers fast by searching a collection growing by over 30,000 statistical tables annually. Search summaries of statistical publications for comprehensive overviews of documents. Jump to other Web sites with useful information about statistics.

TOXNET
TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology.

Trip Database
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Unbound Medicine          
Mobile and web reference to diagnose patients, answer questions, and look up information at the bedside, or anywhere a question about patient care comes up.
 

Wiley Online

Full-text journal articles and books published mostly by Wiley (look for icon)
 

Loading
Image Map