Skip to main content
LSHSL Home HUHS HU Home Image Map

Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library: Contact Us

Contact Us

Summer  Hours     

Monday - Friday  8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Saturday        Closed

Sunday           Closed

          

           

Reference Desk/Circulation
          202-884-1520/1

Email: HealthSciencesLibrary@howard.edu

   


 

 

ASK US!


Have a...research question or concern?

Call us at 202.884.1522


Email your research questions or concerns to
healthscienceslibrary@howard.edu

Frequently Asked Questions


What are the library's hours?

Monday -Friday 8:00 am - 2:00am. Saturday 10:00am - 10:00pm. Sunday 12:00 noon - 12:00 midnight.

Can I print at the library?

We do not have printing services at the Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library, but printing and copying services are available in the iLab and the Computer Lab @ Founder's Library.  

Are study rooms available? 

Yes, group study rooms are available for to the Health Sciences students. The limit is three hours but can be renewed if no other groups are waiting.

I found a book in the catalog and it says that it is on Reserve. How can I locate it?

Reserve books are located behind the Circulation Desk. They can be checked out for three hours for in-library use only. 

How do I access online resources from off campus? 

When you select a resource from off campus, you will be prompted to login by (1) selecting "Howard", (2) entering your last name and (3) entering your Howard University ID number. See additional information and a short video here: Off Campus Access

I tried to log on from off campus and found that my account is expired. What should I do? 

Call the library's main number at 202-884-1521 (8 am-5 pm weekdays) or  email healthscienceslibrary@howard.edu. Please use your Howard University email in all correspondence.

I am a Howard alum. May I use the library? 

Yes, you are welcomed to use the library space but make sure you have an updated alum card from the Office of Alumni Relations.

Fatima Barnes, EDD, MPH, MSIS
Executive Director
202.884.1723
fatima.barnes@howard.edu
George D. Clarke
Access Services Technician
202.884.1520
gdclarke@howard.edu

Vermille Davis
Access Services Technician
202.884.1521
vermille.davis@howard.edu

Joni Floyd, MLS, PhD
Archivist
202.884.1729
joni.floyd@howard.edu

Jeremy Gunnoe, MSLIS
Medical Librarian (Dentistry Liaison)
202.884.1507
jeremy.gunnoe@howard.edu

Jahala Simuel, MLS, MIS
Medical Librarian (Nursing & Allied Health and Pharmacy Liaison)
202.884.1508
jahala.simuel@howard.edu

Young-Joo Lee, MSLIS
Senior Clinical Librarian (Hospital & Residents Liaison)
202.884.1526
young-joo.lee@howard.edu

Yelena Suprunova, MA, MLIS
Digital Resources Librarian 
202.884.1730
yelena.suprunova@howard.edu

Deborah Webb
Access Services Technician
202.884.1520
dwebb@howard.edu

Lawrence Tucker
Access Services Technician
202.884.1521
lawrence.tucker@howard.edu

   

 

Fatima Barnes, EDD, MPH, MSIS
Executive Director (Medicine Liaison)
202.884.1723
fatima.barnes@howard.edu

Jeremy Gunnoe, MLIS
Medical Librarian (Dentistry Liaison)
202.884.1507
jeremy.gunnoe@howard.edu

Young-Joo Lee, MS
Senior Clinical Librarian (Hospitals & Residents Liaison)
202.884.1526
young-joo.lee@howard.edu

Jahala Simuel, MIS, MLS
Medical Librarian (Nursing & Allied Health and Pharmacy Liaison)
202.884.1508
jahala.simuel@howard.edu

 

!  Email us at healthscienceslibrary@howard.edu to schedule a session or to request a research consultation. 

 

The Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library (LSHSL)

The LSHSL is a health information resource for the University's medical, dental, pharmacy, nursing, and allied health sciences students and faculty, and also a resource for individual patients, healthcare providers, the community, and researchers in general.

Towering on four levels of one of the most iconic buildings on campus, the library has two elevators and offers space to meet various needs of the Howard community. Some of the meeting rooms are fully equipped to multicast presentations and discussions that foster collaboration between internal and external stakeholders.

The library is affiliated with the Medical Library Association as well as the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL). AAHSL comprises the libraries serving the accredited U.S. and Canadian medical schools belonging to, or affiliated with the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). It includes other related libraries and organizations that lead in resolving information and knowledge management problems in the health care environment.

Staffing
The library is staffed by five (5) librarians (including the Executive Director), and four (4) technical assistants. The Executive Director reports to the Provost and Chief Academic Officer of the University.

Information Resources

The LSHSL collection transitioned from print-based to electronic in 2014 to provide online access to high quality digital assets. Access to 6,556 electronic journals, 4,541 eBooks, and 61 fee-based databases are available on-campus and remotely. The library provides immediate and multiple routes of access to electronic resources including full-text journals, full-text books, evidence-based practice tools, indexes, and databases.

Currently, the LSHSL opens for 84 hours per week. In addition, three large rooms are made available for Health Sciences students to use after the library closes.


The LSHSL Facilities:

  • There is seating for 600 (including study carrels, club chairs) throughout the LSHSL in traditional and non-traditional setting. In addition to campus-wide wireless connection, power and data ports facilitate easy laptop computer use and data retrieval.
  • A total of 14 group, and single study rooms are furnished with 14 tables and 56 chairs.  A white board is mounted in each room.

Ground Floor

  • The university seal on the floor of the Gallery welcomes all patrons to the Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library. The Gallery is adorned with memorabilia of Louis Stokes and accommodates up to 75 people.
  • Equipped with a projector, portable video equipment, retractable screen, white boards, and desktop network ports for laptop computers, the Video Distance Learning allows students and instructors to interact with other medical universities and hospitals.
  • The networked Telemedicine Room enables health professionals to share data and discuss cases with physicians at remote sites.
  • The Harold J. Kaplan Multimedia Room is equipped with 23 computer workstations and seats 30. On the 2nd floor, the eLab has 24 computer workstations. There are whiteboards and dropdown screens and projectors in computer labs.
  • In addition to PCs in the computer labs, 12 MAC computers are available for patrons.

Second Floor

  • Eight Problem-Based Learning rooms are used for seminars and group study spaces. There is a total of 96 chairs and 48 tables.
  • With seating for 23, the Faculty Reading Room offers a tranquil venue for reading, writing, or relaxing.

Third Floor

  • The Special Collections Reading Room provides a pleasant, secure, and controlled environment for the display and use of special collections devoted to health issues and the contributions of African American health practitioners to the history of medicine. It is also a repository for rare books and artifacts.
     
  • The 4th floor Reading Room accommodates 200 persons. This popular room is used for special events and also converts into a study area.  Adjacent to this space, is the intimate Dr. George Jones Conference Room with scenic views of the Freeman’s Square.
  • The Health Science Testing Center is also located on the 4th floor of the LSHSL. There are 130 work stations on study carrels and a monitoring system.

 

Off Campus Access

1. Go to http://www.hsl.howard.edu

2. When you select a library database, you will be prompted to login

  • Select "Howard" as the location
  • Enter your last name
  • Enter your Howard ID (Example: 00111222)

3. Select "Login"

See the short video below on how to login from off campus. If you are denied access, call 202-884-1521 or email healthscienceslibrary@howard.edu

Loading
Image Map